STRATOVARIUS: 'Polaris' To Be Reissued With Live CD

"Polaris", the 2009 comeback album from Finnish melodic metallers STRATOVARIUS, will be reissued as a two-CD digipack on May 21 via earMUSIC/Edel. In addition to the original album, the package will include a bonus disc containing 75 minutes of live material recorded during the "Polaris" tour and spanning the band's entire history.

The track listing for the set is as follows:


01. Deep Unknown
02. King Of Nothing
03. Winter Skies
04. Higher We Go
05. Emancipation Suite: I Dusk
06. When Mountains Fall
07. Falling Star
08. Blind
09. Forever Is Today
10. Somehow Precious
11. Emancipation Suite: II Dawn


01. Destiny (live)
02. Hunting High And Low (live)
03. Speed of Light (live)
04. Kiss Of Judas (live)
05. Deep Unknown (live)
06. A Million Light Years Away (live)
07. Bach: Air Suite (live)
08. Winter Skies (live)
09. Phoenix (live)
10. SOS (live)
11. Forever Is Today (live)
12. King Of Nothing (live)
13. Father Time (live)
14. Higher We Go (live)

STRATOVARIUS' first CD since the departure of guitar player and main composer Timo Tolkki, "Polaris" was released in the U.S. in May 2009 via Armoury Records (a division of Eagle Rock Entertainment).

In September 2008, freed from many burdens of negativity, the band found the freedom to go into seclusion for almost a month in a cottage by the sea in a Finnish forest to relax, laugh, write songs, be creative together, and record. And they found themselves being a band reborn. The result is a melodic, powerful, fresh, tight, and technically elaborate new album.

"Polaris" was recorded in the fall 2008 at Hästholmen and 5by5 studios in Helsinki, Finland. Mixed by the longtime confidant of the band Mikko Karmila the album became another shining polar star at the Northern sky. Powerful melodies mingle with sophisticated arrangements, strong anthems stand alongside heavy songs. 11 songs full of energy, musicianship, and a positive outlook.

STRATOVARIUS' latest addition is 26-year-old Finnish guitar phenomenon Matias Kupiainen. Drummer Jörg Michael said, "In Matias we found new character who fits perfectly with his way of melodic guitar shredding. He is a killer player, a 'wunderkind' from Finland!"


Timo Kotipelto - Vocals
Matias Kupiainen - Guitars
Lauri Porra - Bass
Jörg Michael - Drums
Jens Johansson - Keyboards


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).