SPEED X To Release Debut Album Next Month

SPEED X — the new band featuring BLACK LABEL SOCIETY guitarist Nick Catanese, ex-QUEENSRŸCHE axeman Mike Stone on guitar and vocals, DOUBLEDRIVE drummer Mike Froedge, former DOUBLEDRIVE bassist Joshua Sattler and ULTRAPHONIC's Jason Fowler on lead vocals — will release its debut album, "Flat Black", on January 15, 2010.

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. Speed
02. Fly
03. Flat Black
04. Feel
05. On My Side
06. Pretending
07. River
08. Loaded Up
09. Skeletons
10. Criminal
11. Let's Go All The Way

"Louder than 11, faster than light" has been used to describe SPEED X's unique brand of high-energy rock. These five music industry veterans did not want to settle for just any sound, but set out to create something uniquely their own that would appeal to their already existing fan bases from previous projects, as well as bring in a whole new listening audience at the same time.

Combine the blazing guitars of Catanese and Stone, and the pounding rhythms of Froedge, and Sattler, and the band shows its raw power and energy. Fowler's hard-edged melodic vocal style completes the package which gives SPEED X a new sound, texture and feel for their fiery brand of modern rock and roll.

"Flat Black" is available for pre-order at this location.

The current SPEED X lineup made its live debut on May 22 at the Hard Rock Café in Atlanta, Georgia.

Video footage of the performance can be viewed below.

SPEED X performed on January 17, 2009 at the Hilton hotel in Anaheim, California during this year's NAMM show.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).