SOUNDGARDEN: Footage Of Intimate New York City Show

According to The Pulse Of Radio, SOUNDGARDEN blasted through 23 songs in front of 1,000 people at New York City's Irving Plaza nightclub on Tuesday night (November 13), in the first of three such shows to celebrate the arrival of the band's first album in 16 years, "King Animal". The show included a healthy amount of new material, eight songs in all, and drummer Matt Cameron told The Pulse Of Radio that the band wants to showcase the tracks from the new album as much as possible. "I think the more we play that, the better it's sounding, so every opportunity we get now to do that, we're certainly trying to do more and more."

The band's next two "intimate shows" will take place on Friday (November 16) in Toronto and November 27 in Los Angeles, with the group launching a full North American trek in January.

In addition to the eight new songs aired, the Irving Plaza show catered to hardcore SOUNDGARDEN fans with more obscure older tracks like "Incessant Mace" and "Gun" replacing radio hits such as "Black Hole Sun", which was not performed.

"King Animal" is SOUNDGARDEN's first all-new album since 1996's "Down On The Upside" and is projected by Hits Daily Double to sell between 70,000 and 75,000 copies in its first week out. The band reunited in 2010 and has done one tour since, in addition to releasing a hits compilation and a live album.

SOUNDGARDEN's Tuesday night setlist in New York:

01. Incessant Mace
02. Gun
03. Jesus Christ Pose
04. By Crooked Steps
05. Outshined
06. Room A Thousand Years Wide
07. Spoonman
08. Taree
09. Been Away Too Long
10. Worse Dreams
11. My Wave
12. Ugly Truth
13. Fell On Black Days
14. Hunted Down
15. Drawing Flies
16. Non-State Actor
17. Black Saturday
18. Blow Up The Outside World
19. Eyelid's Mouth
20. Blood On The Valley Floor
21. Rowing


22. Slaves & Bulldozers

Second encore:

23. Rusty Cage


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).