SMASHING PUMPKINS: New Lineup Revealed?

According to a posting on, the latest additions to the "reunited' SMASHING PUMPKINS are bassist Ginger Reyes (ex-HALO FRIENDLIES) and guitarist Jeff Schroeder (ex-THE LASSIE FOUNDATION). So far there has been no official confirmation of the new members' identities, although original guitarist James Iha did reveal to this past week that he is not part of the current SMASHING PUMPKINS album or tour. "I haven't spoken to Billy [Corgan, PUMPKINS mainman] in years," he said.

The only confirmed original member besides Corgan is drummer Jimmy Chamberlin.

In a February 2007 interview with, PUMPKINS manager Paul Geary hinted that the relaunched SMASHING PUMPKINS would not include original members Iha on guitar and D'Arcy Wretzky on bass. Geary said, "I've been involved with bands whose members can't stand each other, and over time they run out of dough and that's why they [reunite]. But Billy's [Corgan, PUMPKINS leader] making a great record, and for the sake of a younger generation that he wants to turn on to the band's music, he is doing it with a band that will more faithfully re-create the old songs than ever before."

Corgan often expressed irritation in the past with Iha and Wretzky's playing, and it was rumored that he recorded all of their parts himself on much of the PUMPKINS' recorded output.

Back in June 2006, a spokesperson for the PUMPKINS' management confirmed to that Eric Avery, the erstwhile bassist for JANE'S ADDICTION, had been "rehearsing with [the band] in their pre-production of the new record, but added that nothing [had been] confirmed in regards to [Avery joining the PUMPKINS]."

As previously reported, SMASHING PUMPKINS have announced their first live performance since December 2, 2000 — a very special and intimate theatre show to take place May 22 in Paris, France at the historic and elegantly appointed Grand Rex. Tickets will go on sale April 11. This marks the first time the SMASHING PUMPKINS will unveil songs from the upcoming "Zeitgeist" (due on July 7 via Martha's Music/Reprise), their sixth album and first of new material since 2000's "Machina/The Machines of God" and the free, digital-only release "Machina II/The Friends & Enemies of Modern Music". "Zeitgeist" was produced by Billy Corgan and Jimmy Chamberlin, with Roy Thomas Baker and Terry Date working separately on various tracks, and represents the culmination of two years of work.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).