SKYCLAD Name New Album

SKYCLAD have set "A Semblance of Normality" as the title for their forthcoming CD, which is currently being recorded for an early 2003 release.

Among the tracks that are tentatively scheduled to appear on the upcoming album are the following:

01. The Parliament of Fools
02. The Song of No-involvement
03. Campaign
04. The Genius of the Shire (parts 1 and 2)
05. Like… (A Ballad for the Disenchanted)
06. Anotherdrinkingsong
07. Lightening the Load
08. The Roman Wall Blues
09. A Good Day to Bury Bad News
10. Do They Mean Us?

Guitarist/vocalist Kevin Ridley had the following to say with regards to the album's songwriting process: "As usual, [guitarist] Steve [Ramsey] wrote the majority of the music although [bassist] Graeme (Bean) [English] and I have contributed with some. I have written all the lyrics (except 'Roman Wall Blues', which was written by W. H. Auden and is a poem I studied when at school for an 'A' level).

Story continues after advertisement

"The album has turned into a bit of a strange beast and probably something quite different to what we intended (but that's the way with the creative recording process). It is definitely 'heavy' and also definitely 'folksy' (which is, I believe, the correct term) but more interestingly than any of that, to me, the main thing is that it seems quite eccentric in its own little way - which is 'refreshingly different'."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).