SIXX: A.M.'s 'Life Is Beautiful' Named 'Rock' Song Of The Year

SIXX: A.M.'s hit single "Life is Beautiful" has been named the No. 1 "rock" song of 2008 by Mediabase, which is said to be Nielsen BDS' prime competitor in the field of electronic airplay monitoring.

Each year, Mediabase releases its year-end charts featuring the most played songs, artists and record labels of the past twelve months.

SIXX: A.M. — which features MÖTLEY CRÜE bassist Nikki Sixx, James Michael and DJ Ashba (ex-BEAUTIFUL CREATURES) — released a deluxe version of its album, "The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack", on November 25, available exclusively at Best Buy. The deluxe edition includes a never-before released live EP, "Live Is Beautiful", which will also be released separately for those who have already purchased "The Heroin Diaries".

"Live Is Beautiful" (produced by SIXX: A.M. and mixed by James Michael) was compiled from several performances on this summer's Crüe Fest, and features riveting renditions of the tracks "Life Is Beautiful", "Tomorrow", "Pray For Me" and "Accidents Can Happen".

Story continues after advertisement

The complete track listing is as follows:

"The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack":

01. X-Mas In Hell
02. Van Nuys
03. Life Is Beautiful
04. Pray For Me
05. Tomorrow
06. Accidents Can Happen
07. Intermission
08. Dead Man's Ballet
09. Heart Failure
10. Girl With Golden Eyes
11. Courtesy Call
12. Permission
13. Life After Death

"Live Is Beautiful" Bonus EP:

01. X-Mas In Hell (Live)
02. Pray For Me (Live)
03. Heart Failure (Live)
04. Intermission (Live)
05. Dead Man's Ballet (Live)
06. Tomorrow (Live)
07. Accidents Can Happen (Live)
08. Life Is Beautiful (Live)

SIXX: A.M. made its live debut in July 2007 following a press conference to promote Sixx's new book and accompanying soundtrack, "The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star". Highlights from the press conference can be seen at this location.

Released in September 2007 via MTV/VH1 Pocket Books, a division of Simon & Schuster, "The Heroin Diaries" offers an unflinching and utterly gripping look at Sixx's descent into drug addiction. The book is a tell-all, drawn from Nikki's 1986 and '87 journals.

Sixx found the diaries in storage and spent years compiling them for the book. He said he sees them more as a commentary on the record business than as a portrait of a lurid rock 'n' roll lifestyle.

The SIXX: A.M. album, which serves as the "soundtrack" to Sixx's "The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star" book, was released by Eleven Seven Music and distributed by ADA, with a portion of proceeds donated to Nikki's Running Wild in the Night, a fundraising initiative for Covenant House. The CD has sold more than 270,000 copies in the United States so far, according to Nielsen SoundScan.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).