SIXX: A.M.: More 'This Is Gonna Hurt' Album Details Revealed

MÖTLEY CRÜE/SIXX: A.M. bassist Nikki Sixx will release "This Is Gonna Hurt: Music, Photography And Life Through The Distorted Lens Of Nikki Sixx", a follow-up to his New York Times bestseller, "The Heroin Diaries", on April 12. The book, part photo chronicle and part journal, will be accompanied by the release of an original soundtrack from SIXX: A.M., an 11-track companion piece to the book, which will hit stores May 3.

"I've always had an eye for the oddities in life. Even as a kid I saw the world in my own way and thought most things that were different were beautiful and magical. Even things that other people thought were horrifying and disgusting and weird. . . . People say I have a distorted lens. I think I see things as they really are," said Sixx. He continues, "I felt the need to bring my visions to life. This project is raw, it's what I see and feel through writing, through photos, through video and through music."

"This Is Gonna Hurt" is part photo, part journal — but all Nikki Sixx. It is a collection of compelling snapshots and stories that capture the rage, love, optimism, darkness, and determination that shape his work. Told with the raw authenticity that defined his New York Times bestseller "The Heroin Diaries", "This Is Gonna Hurt" chronicles Sixx's experience, from references to his early years filled with toxic waste to his success with MÖTLEY CRÜE, his death from an OD and rebirth to his addictions to music, photography, and love along with the journey of photographing these images over the past couple of years.

"I want to take you on the journey I am on, in real time," Sixx writes. "If you don't deal with your demons, they will deal with you, and it's gonna hurt."

Story continues after advertisement

Sixx draws from his pain and sobriety for strength and inspiration as seen and heard in this raw and powerful project. The accompanying similarly titled soundtrack from SIXX: A.M. is a chilling, heavy take on the concept of the book and photography. Throughout all mediums Sixx gives us a glimpse inside his sick and dirty mind.

"This Is Gonna Hurt" will include dozens of Nikki's images and will be the first public viewing of his photography. The book and soundtrack both incorporate the stories behind the pictures and how they came to be, including interviews with the subjects so readers can see "what life is like for those whom society has labeled as freaks."

"This is Gonna Hurt" will roll out in an innovative multi platform release structure, similar to the multi platform release pioneered by Sixx for his first book release "The Heroin Diaries". The artistic endeavor pairs the new book with accompanying multimedia projects: a soundtrack, a new single, a book signing tour and select SIXX:A.M. shows.

The album is highlighted by tracks like the first single, "Lies Of The Beautiful People", which tackles contradictions in society. Contradictions that inspired Nikki and even had Nikki questioning, "if I find beauty in all these places that most deem 'freakish' and 'macabre,' then why do I also, at times, seek out beauty in what society calls beautiful? Am I contradicting myself or am I able to actually look beneath the surface when others sometimes can't? This is a good question. Make no mistake when I refer to "The lies of beautiful people" I mean what I say but I am also saying look beneath the skin."

The album as a whole deals with many raw, human issues. Nikki talks about the album as "pulling back the veil on your internal truth." Saying, "We are who we are… Either poisonous and evil or honest and willing… Willing to make a difference… I haven't led the life of a saint nor do I intend on it now."

The thoughtful album — produced entirely by James Michael with writing credits going to Sixx, Michael, Ashba and band friends John William Lowrey and Blair Daly — dives deep into meandering emotions through epic melodies. The resulting work is a deep, dark and intoxicatingly addictive mix of sounds and passion.

The campaign has kicked off on Nikki's vibrant online community with the recent releases of video teasers and select photographic images which will be followed by the launch a new single from SIXX: A.M. The first single, "Lies Of The Beautiful People", will go to radio on March 1.

"This is Gonna Hurt" the book, will be released through HarperCollins imprint William Morrow and accompanying soundtrack will be released on Eleven Seven Music. Expect SIXX: A.M., which consists of Sixx, DJ Ashba and James Michael, to announce a run of tour dates in support of the release.

"This Is Gonna Hurt" album track listing:

01. This Is Gonna Hurt
02. Lies of the Beautiful People
03. Are You With Me
04. Live Forever
05. Sure Feels Right
06. Deadlihood
07. Smile
08. Help Is On the Way
09. Oh My God
10. Goodbye My Friends
11. Skin

Songwriting credits:

* This is Gonna Hurt (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)
* Lies Of The Beautiful People (Michael, Sixx, John William Lowrey, Ashba)
* Live Forever (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)
* Are You With Me Now (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)
* Sure Feels Right (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)
* Deadlihood (Michael, Sixx, Blair Daly)
* Smile (Michael, Sixx)
* Oh My God (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)
* Goodbye Dear Friends (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)
* Skin (Michael, Blair Daly)
* Help Is On The Way (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).