SHOK PARIS To Perform Entire 'Go For The Throat' Album In Cleveland

Cleveland metal legends SHOK PARIS will perform their classic 1984 album, "Go For The Throat", in its entirety for the very first time on Saturday, May 1 at the Beachland Ballroom in the band's hometown. Also scheduled to appear are GROUND ZERO, H.A.T.E. and DOFKA. The show starts at 8 p.m. Admission is $9.

"Go For The Throat" was the first release from both SHOK PARIS and Auburn Records in 1984. The landmark vinyl album was reissued with bonus tracks on CD by Auburn in 2004 to support SHOK PARIS' performance at the Bang Your Head!!! festival in Balingen, Germany.

"After doing the last few shows, it has come to our attention that a lot of the fans coming to the shows, old and new fans alike, were not around when we first came out in '84," says SHOK PARIS lead vocalist Vic Hix. "Back then, all we could play out was 'Go For The Throat' material because that's all we had. As time went by and we started writing for the newer albums, we stopped playing almost everything from 'Go For The Throat' except 'Burn It Down' and 'Run But Don't Hide'. Those two were a mainstay as the ending songs, forever, at all of our shows, even up to this day. It just would not feel right not doing those songs at the end of the night.

"So fast forward to today. At the past few shows we have been asked why we did not play this song or that song off 'Go For The Throat'. [So] we decided for the next show to blow the dust off of that ol' piece of vinyl and play all the songs from it.

"I think it will be a blast to do! It will give everybody a taste of the 'ol Shok Pariee,' as we like to say."

SHOK PARIS reunited in 2009 with a new lineup to perform at the Auburn Records 25th Anniversary Concert. The band still features core members and main songwriters Ken Erb on guitar and Hix on vocals.

SHOK PARIS will headline the first night of the Headbangers Open Air festival, set to take place July 29-31, 2010 in Brande-Hörnerkirchen, Germany.

The band is working on new material and plans to begin recording its fourth studio album for Auburn later this year.


Vic Hix - Vocals
Ken Erb - Guitar
John Korzekwa - Guitar
Ed Stephens - Bass
Donovan Kenaga – Drums


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).