SEVENTH KEY: 'I Will Survive' Details Revealed

Fans of melodic, progressive hard rock have been waiting a long time for this: "I Will Survive", the new album by SEVENTH KEY, and the first new CD of studio recordings since 2004's "The Raging Fire". Spearheaded by longtime KANSAS bassist/vocalist Billy Greer and guitarist/keyboardist Mike Slamer (ex-CITY BOY, STREETS, STEELHOUSE LANDE), they are joined by drummer Chet Wynd and a slew of special guests.

"I think the new CD is maybe a little bit more hard-edged and a little more progressive," says Greer, who remains an active member of KANSAS. " I was also able to enlist my KANSAS bandmate and friend, David Ragsdale, to play on four tracks. That, in itself, added a whole new element to the album."

Formed in 2001 as a side project for Greer and Slamer (the two had played together in the early 1980s in STREETS with KANSAS vocalist Steve Walsh), SEVENTH KEY released an acclaimed self-titled debut but then went dormant again due to the member's previous commitments. The group resurfaced in 2004 with the compelling album "The Raging Fire" and a live CD/DVD the following year.

"I Will Survive", with its prophetic title, re-establishes Greer and Slamer's commitment to SEVENTH KEY.

Story continues after advertisement

"I wanted to do more music with Mike," said Greer. "We have a great friendship and we have a strong work ethic. When we get in the studio, things seem to always click."

Part of SEVENTH KEY's musical magic comes in its ability to effectively blend both melodic hard rock and intricate progressive music. They deliver powerful songs and production values that always include big sonic landscapes.

"I Will Survive" is scheduled for release on Frontiers Records on November 1 in Europe and November 5 in North America and will include the following songs:

01. I Will Survive
02. Lay In On The Line
03. I See You There
04. It's Just A State Of Mind
05. Sea Of Dreams
06. Time And Time Again
07. When Love Sets You Free
08. Down
09. The Only One
10. What Love's Supposed To Be
11. I Want It All


* Billy Greer: Bass, Lead Vocals
* Mike Slamer: Guitars, Keyboards, Programming
* Chet Wynd: Drums

Special Guests:

* David Ragsdale: Violin
* Billy Trudel, Terry Brock, Bobby Capps, Barry "The Blade" Johnson: Background Vocals
* David Manion: Keyboards



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).