SEVENDUST Guitarist CLINT LOWERY Speaks About New Solo EP

Recently reunited with his musical "brothers," SEVENDUST co-founder, guitarist and background singer Clint Lowery has just released a record of his own, "Chills", under the moniker HELLO DEMONS… MEET SKELETONS. Lowery elected to record a solo album on his own between SEVENDUST tours — with production, engineering and mixing help from his brother Corey (also of DARK NEW DAY, STEREOMUD and STUCK MOJO fame) — and to self-release it on the Internet. MetalSucks recently had the opportunity to interview Lowery via email. An excerpt from the interview follows below.

MetalSucks: How and when was HELLO DEMONS... MEET SKELETONS written?

Clint Lowery: It was written starting in November of 2007 here and there until September 11th, 2008. I wrote it because at the time I was in the darkest place of my life and had to put it down through music to remember where I was and not to go back there again.

MetalSucks: Did you have a specific sound in mind when you began writing?

Clint Lowery: I knew this particular EP was gonna be acoustic all the way through. It just fit the mood I was in most of the time.

MetalSucks: Between DARK NEW DAY and now your new solo CD, it seems you've got a desire to write music outside of just SEVENDUST. What fuels that desire? Is there a certain creative side that you don't feel able to express through SEVENDUST's music?

Clint Lowery: It's a lot of reasons. One main one is I like to keep writing and don't like waiting for album cycles to come a round. I feel like life's too short to only have on average five or six albums [in your career]. Plus, I like doing different styles. I love heavy music and I love mellow stuff as well. I like singing from time to time. I guess it boils down to challenges.

MetalSucks: Do you approach writing differently for your solo material than you would for SEVENDUST?

Clint Lowery: For sure. With SEVENDUST I write vocal ideas around Lajon's [Witherspoon] vocal style. I write music that's heavier and that fits into the SEVENDUST sound. I like pushing the boundaries with SEVENDUST, though. I still think we still can grow more.

Read the entire interview from MetalSucks.

"Chills" track listing:

01. Hell's Next Door
02. This Day
03. Alive And Well
04. I'll Keep This Short
05. Devil In A Cage
06. It's Been Fun

For more information, go to this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).