SATYRICON Rumored To Have Landed U.S. Deal With KOCH RECORDS

Norwegian black metal band SATYRICON is rumored to have inked a deal with Koch Records for the North American release of its new album, "The Age Of Nero". The CD, which was issued in Europe yesterday (Monday, November 3) via Roadrunner Records, is tentatively due in the U.S. in January in time for the group's tour with CRADLE OF FILTH.

In a recent interview, SATYRICON frontman Sigurd "Satyr" Wongraven said, "We are very anxious to get over the pond ourselves and look forward to establishing SATYRICON in America. We want to bring to America what we have built over here in Europe. We know it will take time, but we are ready for it."

In other news, Satyr was the featured guest on last night's (November 3/4) installment of BBC Radio 1's "Rock Show". The program, which is hosted by Daniel P. Carter, is now available for streaming at this location.

SATYRICON recently completed the video shoot for its new single, "Black Crow On A Tombstone". The song, which was released digitally on October 20, is available for streaming at this location. The single is the first track to be released from "The Age Of Nero".

Story continues after advertisement

Largely written in a remote cabin deep in the Norwegian woods by frontman Satyr in collaboration with his old friend Snorre Ruch (of THORNS; himself a legendary figure in the history of Norwegian extreme metal), "The Age Of Nero" features eight of the heaviest songs in SATYRICON's history.

The album is available as a digital download, standard CD and as a special-edition two-CD set. Track listing is as follows:

CD 1: (reflects the standard edition)

01. Commando
02. The Wolfpack
03. Black Crow on a Tombstone
04. Die By My Hand
05. My Skin is Cold
06. The Sign of the Trident
07. Last Man Standing
08. Den Siste

CD 2: (Bonus CD for Special Edition)

01. My Skin is Cold (EP Version)
02. Live Through Me (Re-mastered, original version only released as bonus song on the LP edition of "Volcano")
03. Existential Fear-Questions (Re-mastered, original version only released as bonus song on the LP edition of "Volcano")
04. Repined Bastard Nation (Live and turbocharged from the Gjallarhorn show at Sentrum Scene, Oslo, November 2006)
05. Mother North (Live from the Gjallarhorn show at Sentrum Scene, Oslo, November 2006)
06. The Pentagram Burns (Radio Edit)
07. Last Man Standing (Guitar wall mix)
08. De Siste (Analog mix)

Plus this disc is also digitally enhanced with the videos for:

01. K.I.N.G.
02. The Pentagram Burns

A European headlining tour will kick off on November 12 in Stavanger, Norway and end in Hamburg, Germany on December 20. Opening all shows will be up-and-coming UK thrashers EVILE.

As previously reported, SATYRICON has recruited two new members for its live shows. The rhythm guitar is now handled by French axeman Gildas Le Pape, who has been playing black and thrash metal, as well as jazz, for quite a few years. The band's new touring bassist is Victor Brandt (Sweden) from the death metal band DOMINION and TOTALT JÄVLA MÖRKER. Victor Brandt can also be heard on the new SATYRICON EP "My Skin Is Cold".


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).