SACRED REICH: 'Ignorance/Surf Nicaragua' Reissues Due In June

Metal Blade Records will release a three-disc deluxe reissue of SACRED REICH's "Ignorance" and "Surf Nicaragua" on June 15 (Germany, Austria, Switzerland) and June 18 (rest of Europe). Two CDs will be included in the package (both remastered!) as well as a bonus DVD. The package includes liner notes by bassist/vocalist Phil Rind and Malcom Dome (Classic Rock, Metal Hammer, Total Rock Radio) and an extensive booklet with loads of previously unpublished photos.

In an exclusive interview with BLABBERMOUTH.NET conducted last November, Phil Rind stated about the reissues/box set, "Paul Stottler is completing new artwork, and we pretty much have everything put together. It will be 'Ignorance' and 'Surf Nicaragua' with some extra tracks. We recorded 'Rapid Fire', my favorite JUDAS PRIEST song off 'British Steel', with Rob Halford singing. That was kick ass! It's never been released. We've got some other covers and our original demo, 'Draining You of Life'. So it will be two discs and a DVD. The DVD will have a video for 'Ignorance' (for your information, Don King and Dana Wells were cameramen!) with an interview done in 1987. Also included will be the Dynamo Open Air show from 1989 when we were on tour in Europe with FORBIDDEN. That was one of the most memorable shows we've ever done. It was the first big outdoor show we ever did. It was a special day. We've also put in a little film our friend Eric Braverman did called 'Just Say Sacred'. He was out on the road with us for some California shows when we were toured with SEPULTURA, NAPALM DEATH and SICK OF IT ALL. It's got some funny fan stuff on there. It makes me laugh. Right now it will be released in Europe only, probably in May or June. We're wrestling with old record company to try to get the U.S. rights back to our stuff. Isn't that a bitch?! Hopefully it will work out and we can put the record out in the U.S. as well. We hope so. The whole reason we were going to do a reissue is because we think it's bullshit that if you want to get a SACRED REICH record that's been out of print, it can cost upwards of thirty dollars on eBay for a used copy. I think it's a rip-off and if people still want to get the records we'd like to make them available for less money."

The track listing is follows:

Disc 1 (CD):

Story continues after advertisement

"Ignorance" album:

01. Death Squad
02. Victim of Demise
03. Laid to Rest (instrumental)
04. Ignorance
05. No Believers
06. Violent Solutions
07. Rest in Peace
08. Sacred Reich
09. Administrative Decisions
Bonus material:
10. Rapid Fire (JUDAS PRIEST cover with Rob Halford singing)
11. The Big Picture (MDC Cover)
12. Sweet Leaf (BLACK SABBATH Cover)

Disc 2 (CD):

"Surf Nicaragua" EP:

01. Surf Nicaragua
02. One Nation
03. War Pigs
04. Draining You Of Life
05. Ignorance (live)
06. Death Squad (live)
Bonus material:
07. Draining You Of Life (four-track demo 1986)
08. Ignorance (from "Metal Massacre VIII")
09. No Believers (four-track demo 1986)
10. R.I.P. (four-track demo 1986)
11. Sacred Reich (four-track demo 1986)
12. Sacred Reich ("Metal Massacre" sessions)

Note: All four-track demo songs feature original member Jeff Martinek on lead guitar.

Disc 3 (DVD):

* "Ignorance" Video and Interview
* live show from Dynamo Open Air 1989
* "Just Say Sacred" - short film by Eric Braverman

The original lineup of SACRED REICHPhil Rind (bass, vocals), Wiley Arnett (lead guitar), Jason Rainey (rhythm guitar) and Greg Hall (drums) — will reunite for several shows in Europe this summer, including an appearance at the Wacken Open Air festival on August 4. The band has also lined up two "warm-up" dates in Arizona. The group's schedule is now shaping up as follows:

Jul. 20 - The Rock - Tucson Arizona
Jul. 21 - The Venue of Scottsdale - Scottdale, AZ
Jul. 29 - Scala - London, UK
Aug. 01 - Biebob - Vosselaar, BEL
Aug. 02 - Dynamo Club - Eindhoven, NETH
Aug. 04 - Wacken Open Air - Wacken, GER

Phil Rind stated about the band's decision to get back together, "We've been putting together the re-release for a while and going through the old stuff, music, videos, photos etc. It's been fun to get together and do some SACRED REICH-related things. The re-issue is going to come out [this] year and it's going to be the 20th anniversary of the band. We thought it would be fun to do some shows. Metal Blade gave me a few people to contact and they were interested in doing some shows. The whole thing, from the idea until today, took less than two weeks to put together. We're excited to play a big show like Wacken and it will be great to be back in London, [Belgium] and Eindhoven where we have a lot of friends and great memories. It will be a lot of fun."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).