SACRED OATH: 'World On Fire' Release Date Announced

Connecticut metallers SACRED OATH will release their fourth studio album, "World On Fire", on October 26 as an iTunes exclusive. The deluxe bundle includes 11 songs and a PDF of the cover art, lyrics and liner notes. The CD was produced by singer/guitarist Rob Thorne at his studio in Connecticut during February and March this year. "I couldn’t be happier with how this recording turned out," says Thorne, who has produced all but one of SACRED OATH's albums. "It was important to me that 'World On Fire' have its own sonic character. That can be a challenge when making albums so close to each other, but this album stands on its own. I hope the fans will love it."

"World On Fire" contains 11 brand new tracks with a running time of 58 minutes:

01. Sweet Agony
02. Meet Your Maker
03. The King Must Die
04. Sandrider
05. Front Line
06. Face of Evil
07. Drums of War
08. Revolution
09. When the War is Over
10. On Death Row
11. World On Fire

"Meet Your Maker" is available for streaming in the YouTube clip below.

The cover art was created by famed sci-fi artist Michael Whelan (SEPULTURA, EVILE, STEPHEN KING).

According to a press release, the "World On Fire" lyrical content is based on "Dune", the '60s sci-fi best seller by Frank Herbert. The effort marks a return to the concept-album format for the band, whose conceptual debut, "A Crystal Vision" (1988), went on to become a cult power metal classic.


Rob Thorne (vocals/guitar)
Kenny Evans (drums)
Bill Smith (guitar)
Brendan Kelleher (bass)

Last year SACRED OATH released a self-titled album and enjoyed breakthrough success with the single "Counting Zeros" as iTunes "Discovery Download of the Week" in April 2009 . The video premiered on MTV2's "Headbangers Ball" and was accompanied by an interview with the band.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details.