ROUGH SILK's FERDY DOERNBERG Reveals More Details About Upcoming Solo Album

English/German slide guitar/keyboard player and singer/songwriter Ferdy Doernberg (ROUGH SILK) has completed work on his new solo album, "Travelling Light", for a February release via Rebellion Records. Most of the CD was recorded at Ferdy's studio (the Droehnwerk) in Bad Nenndorf, with additional recordings that took place in New York City and Hamburg. It was mastered at Blue Castle Studio in Hamburg by Michael Hankel (HOLY MOSES guitarist).

Commented Doernberg: "I wrote all the songs apart from 'May God Save Us From Religion' — a duet with Joseph Parsons (an incredible vocal performance!), who co-wrote the song, too. The same goes for Johnny Gioeli on 'Mutants At The Shopping Mall'. The drums were played by Mike Terrana, Alex Wenn and my brother Curt. The bass tracks were performed by my girlfriend Anke Sobek, Ecki Huedepohl and André Hort. Katja Krause sang harmony vocals on three tracks. I sang and played everything else apart from one song, 'Integrity', where Michael Hankel played electric guitars. On the same track, Sabina Classen (HOLY MOSES) did some growling and — this may be a surprise for many of her fans — clean vocals as well!"

He added, "The whole album is a bit different to the last one, '... 'Til I Run Out Of Road'. Of course, it's still a singer/songwriter album with a lot of slide guitar, but it has more jazz influences and some of the songs have some kind of 'big city' atmosphere. Parts of the album were recorded in New York City and this melting pot of cultures had a huge influence on the album. But don't worry — some songs are in the same style as the songs of the last album."

"Travelling Light" track listing:

01. Does A Dobro Rust When You Play It In The Rain? (instrumental)
02. Shed A Tear
03. In Search Of A Catchy Chorus
04. E.T. Phone Home
05. A No-haired Hippie Like Me
06. Keep Me In Your Heart When I'm Gone
07. Along The Road
08. May God Save Us From Religion (duet with Joseph Parsons)
09. Jugband
10. All The Things You Do
11. Integrity (featuring Sabina Classen & Michael Hankel)
12. You Don't Know What You've Got 'Till It's Gone
13. Wah-Whoopf (instrumental)
14. Travelling Light
15. The Suburbs Of Paradise
16a. Django Meets The Undead Scotsman ( instrumental )
16b. Mutants At The Shopping-Mall (duet with Johnny Gioeli)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).