RIOT: New Song Premiers On Japanese Radio

"Riot", a brand new song from the legendary U.S. metal band RIOT, was premiered on this weekend edition of Japan's "Power Rock Today" radio show, hosted by Masa Itoh. You can now listen to the track in the YouTube clip below. The song comes off the RIOT's new album, "Immortal Soul", which will be released on October 21 in Japan via Marquee/Avalon; October 26 in Scandinavia; October 28 in Germany; Austria and Switzerland; October 31 in the rest of Europe; and November 22 in the U.S. and Canada through Steamhammer/SPV. The effort will be available as a limited digipack with two bonus tracks, double gatefold LP (colored blue vinyl) and regular jewel case.

"Immortal Soul" track listing:

01. Riot
02. Still Your Man
03. Crawling
04. Wings Are For Angels
05. Fall Before Me
06. Sins Of The Father
07. Majestica
08. Immortal Soul
09. Insanity
10. Whiskey Man
11. Believe
12. Echoes
13. Johnny's Back (live recording; digipack bonus track) *
14. Metal Soldiers (live recording; digipack bonus track) *

* Recorded live at the Sweden Rock Festival on June 6, 2009 in Slvesborg, Sweden

The artwork was created by the band's vocalist Tony Moore and can be seen below.

With lineup changes knocking their momentum and the Eighties developing into a thrash-fest, a new-look RIOT bounced back in 1988 with the widely-acclaimed "Thundersteel". Although the faces might have looked unfamiliar, with only guitarist Mark Reale now left from the band's formative years, the aggression and musicianship remained unrivalled and unchallengeable. With Tony Moore's distinctive vocals, the muscle and might of bassist Don Van Stavern and drummer Bobby Jarzombek powering the songs along, and Reale's precision playing RIOT were reborn, and followed "Thundersteel" two years later with the jaw-dropping "The Privilege Of Power", an inspiring and at times truly epic album. However, by this time the music world was turning into a very different place, and RIOT found themselves struggling against a tide of apathy. Reale continued to guide the ship through the next two decades, delivering albums of consistent, quality metal, culminating in 2006's "Army Of One" a true statement of intent, as if one were needed.

But the army of one is an army of five once more as RIOT's classic "Thundersteel" and "Privilege" lineup has reunited, adding guitarist Mike Flyntz who played in the live band at that time.

RIOT has been confirmed as special guest on the first leg of HAMMERFALL's European tour this winter. The trek kicks off on October 26 in Copenhagen, Denmark, and ends on November 18 in Cologne, Germany. This will be the first time the legendary "Thundersteel" and "The Privilege Of Power" lineup of Tony Moore (vocals), Mark Reale (guitar), Mike Flyntz (guitar), Don Van Stavern (bass) and Bobby Jarzombek (drums) has played in Europe on a full tour, after the band's celebrated one-off show at the Sweden Rock Festival in 2009.

Commented Olly Hahn, A&R representative at Steamhammer: "Mark, Tony, Don, Bobby and Mike are really fired up once more, and 'Immortal Soul' will be a true successor to the legacy of 'Thundersteel' and 'Privilege'. Classic metal will never die, and who did it better than RIOT?"


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).