Reunited DÉTENTE In Writing Mode

Reunited California-based metallers DÉTENTE — featuring vocalist Ann Boleyn (HELLION) and guitarist Michael Carlino (FEAR OF GOD) alongside original DÉTENTE members Dennis Butler (drums), Caleb Quinn (guitar) and Steve Hochheiser (bass) — are working on new material for a tentative late 2009 release.

Commented Hochheiser: "I have written six new songs and hope to have enough for a full-length over the next couple of months. I have pondered the thought of an EP also but no final decision. For those of you wondering what it might sound like... well. it sounds like DÉTENTE. I did write 'Holy War', 'It's Your Fate', and 'Catalepsy' alone, as well as sharing 'Widow's Walk' and 'Losers' credits; and, of course, the vicious drumming of Dennis gave the punk edge to our music. The new material is probably closer to the demo days in approach, though; Dennis and I tend to lean in the hardcore direction, so we will keep it raw. Everyone can expect it in stores around the September/October time frame."

Video footage of DÉTENTE performing at the Headbangers Open Air festival on July 25, 2008 at the Ballroom in Hamburg, Germany can be viewed below (clip uploaded by YouTube user "stoneagelightning").

Cognitive Records/MVD Entertainment Group last year released the "History I" CD containing the original four-song demo from DÉTENTE plus the demo from the post-DÉTENTE band CATALEPSY. According to a press release, "The original [DÉTENTE] four-song demo recorded in 1985 generated such excitement in the extreme metal scene that [UK's] Kerrang! [magazine] called DÉTENTE the 'most promising band to emerge from the thrash genre.' Mastered and available for the first time this recording has been coupled with the [demo recording from the] post-DÉTENTE [band] CATALEPSY. CATALEPSY featured the DÉTENTE songwriting duo of Steve Hochheiser and Ross Robinson as well as MACHINE HEAD's Dave McClain on drums. Critics praised CATALEPSY as one of the first progressive thrash bands and as the natural evolution of DÉTENTE."

DÉTENTE's classic album "Recognize No Authority" was reissued in July 2007 via MVD Audio.

"Recognize No Authority" was a critically acclaimed recording that maintains a cult following to this day. It was also the launching ground for nu-metal metal producer Ross Robinson (KORN, SLIPKNOT, FEAR FACTORY, SOULFLY) who plays guitar on the album. The CD also marked the first full-length release by FEAR OF GOD's Dawn Crosby, who sadly passed away on December 15, 1996.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).