REDEMPTION Finish Recording New Album

REDEMPTION's primary songwriter and guitarist/keyboardist Nicolas van Dyk has issued the following update on the progress of the recording/mixing sessions for the band's new album, entitled "The Origins of Ruin":

"Spurred on by an email asking me what we'd been up to, I thought I'd let people know that we were still working away at getting our music to you.

"You can see some of the results of our photo shoot on our page here. Ray [Alder, vocals] pulled double-duty, ducking out of FATES WARNING rehearsals for a little while to take pictures, then heading back in. The shows in both the U.S. and Europe were a great success and Ray is in terrific form.

"We are all finished with the recording; I am going to Europe to mix the record in a few days and we should have a finished record by the end of July.

"Travis Smith, the fantastic artist who has done our previous covers, is working way on the new one...the preliminary work is terrific and it should be coming together in the next few weeks.

"Lastly, I am working on distribution deals worldwide. More on this as it becomes available."

REDEMPTION's new album, "The Origins of Ruin", will be mixed by Tommy Newton (UFO, CONCEPTION, HELLOWEEN, ARK, ELEGY). The tracks set to appear on the CD are as follows:

01. The Suffocating Silence
02. Bleed Me Dry
03. The Death of Faith & Reason
04. Memory
05. The Origins of Ruin
06. Man of Glass
07. Blinded
08. Used to Be
09. Fall on You

In addition, the band have recorded two covers which will be released as bonus tracks: UFO's "Love to Love", and TORI AMOS' "Precious Things", which features a guest appearance by vocalist Anna Kristina, a well-known performer from San Francisco with a broad list of session and live credits.


Ray Alder - Vocals
Nick van Dyk - Guitar and Keys
Bernie Versailles - Guitar
Sean Andrews - Bass
Chris Quirarte - Drums

REDEMPTION's sophomore album, "The Fullness of Time", which also featured FATES WARNING frontman Ray Alder, was released last June via Sensory Records. Alder was a guest musician for one track on REDEMPTION's 2003 self-titled debut (Sensory), and he joined the group on-stage at Atlanta's ProgPower festival in September of that year to perform this song. Alder and van Dyk also collaborated previously on a track on the first ENGINE CD.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).