ÅRABROT To Release 'Revenge' In November

ÅRABROT is a Norwegian noise-rock band from Haugesund, Norway named after the city garbage disposal at which local authorities found it appropriate to place a school for troubled youths. In the same way these garbage disposals are a yeasty oasis of scents and liquids that through the years will mutate into indefinable masses, ÅRABROT is a band that continuously develops into something more raw and intriguing.

Since starting out in 2001, ÅRABROT's main core has been Kjetil Nernes (songwriter, guitar and vocals) and Vidar Evensen (drums and visuals), and in recent years, has added noise artist Stian Skagen as a regular on-and-off contributing member of the band. Collaborating with producers such as Billy Anderson (MELVINS, NEUROSIS), Emil Nikolaisen (SERENA MANEESH) and Steve Albini (NIRVANA, HIGH ON FIRE) the band has released three full-length albums and a grotesque bouquet of singles and EPs. 2009 alone produced two critically acclaimed EPs, "AbsoluteNegativisM" and "I Rove", together with a double LP with side project NERNES/SKAGEN, and last but not least the masterpiece "The Brother Seed", the latter earning international attention and a Norwegian Grammy-equivalent nomination.

ÅRABROT is about to represent for this generation what the sum of the MELVINS, BIRTHDAY PARTY and SWANS were to the generation before them; a source of pleasure from both auditory and moral excesses. The band's foundation is noise-rock, but has strong elements of industrial music and noise. In ÅRABROT there is also a dramatic component few other bands in history possess: histories are told and emotions are laid out in a way that's closer to the compositional techniques of experimental film and theatre than traditional song structure. Last but not least they are drawn to the lyrics that combine elements of two of the most stimulating works of human kind: The Bible and Pornography.

In November 2010, ÅRABROT's new album, "Revenge" (available on both CD and double LP, and through all major digital retail outlets), will be released in the U.S. by Fysisk Format with distribution through Stickfigure. A record best described as a final closure but at the same time the beginning of a new era: ÅRABROT's revenge on music in general and their secret vendetta against one special person...

"Revenge" track listing:

01. The Most Sophisticated Form Of Revenge
02. Interim Me
03. The Wretched Child
04. The Dolorous Years
05. Murder
06. End Of First Chant I
07. The Pilgrimage
08. End Of First Chant II
09. The Primrose Path

For more information, visit www.myspace.com/arabrot.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).