PROTOTYPE: 'Catalyst' Artwork Unveiled; Release Date Announced

Los Angeles-based progressive/aggressive metal band PROTOTYPE will release its third full-length album, "Catalyst", on September 11 via Nightmare Records. The first new material from the band in over six years is a story-based science fiction concept effort containing over 60 minutes of new music. Produced entirely by the band and mixed by Neil Kernon (NEVERMORE, CANNIBAL CORPSE, QUEENSRĊ¸CHE, DEICIDE), the album also sees the return of the classic "Trinity" lineup of Kragen Lum (guitar), Vince Levalois (vocals, guitar), Kirk Scherer (bass) and Pat Magrath (drums). With "Catalyst", PROTOTYPE continues to expand its sound by adding new elements to its unique blend of thrash metal and progressive music, creating its heaviest, and clearest album to date.

The cover artwork for "Catalyst" was created by Travis Smith of Seempieces, who has previously worked with OPETH, DEVIN TOWNSEND, NEVERMORE, ICED EARTH, DEATH and AMORPHIS, among many others.

The partnership of Lum and Levalois has flourished for the better part of two decades, during which time they have developed local, national and international recognition, achieving regular to heavy rotation on radio in addition to praise filled reviews and interviews. PROTOTYPE's music represents the consummate intersection of aggressive and progressive song construction, offering a high-energy performance that showcases exceptional musicianship in compositions that remain astonishingly melodic.

"Catalyst" track listing:

01. Inceptum
02. Catalyst
03. Cynic Dreams
04. The Chosen Ones
05. Illuminatum
06. My Own Deception
07. Into Oblivion
08. Impetus
09. Gravity Well
10. The Ageless Heart Of Memory
11. Exiled
12. Communion

PROTOTYPE's last album, "Continuum", was released in 2006 and featured the song "The Way It Ends", which appeared in the best-selling music video game of all time "Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock".


Vince Levalois - Vocals/Guitar
Kragen Lum - Guitar
Kirk Scherer - Bass
Pat Magrath - Drums


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).