Previously Unreleased Live NIRVANA Song From 'Bleach' Reissue Posted Online

Marking the 20th anniversary of NIRVANA's debut album, Sub Pop will reissue the platinum-certified "Bleach" on November 3, 2009. This expanded CD/double-LP will include a never-before-released live performance, special packaging and the first run of the double-LP will be on 180g white vinyl (the first run of the original LP was also on white vinyl). Both formats are available for pre-order at leading up to this edition's release.

Originally recorded over three sessions with producer Jack Endino at Seattle's Reciprocal Recording Studios in December 1988 and January 1989, "Bleach" was released in June 1989 and remains unequivocally/unsurprisingly Sub Pop's very favorite NIRVANA full-length. The album initially sold 40,000 copies, but was brought into the international spotlight following the release and worldwide success of their 1991 sophomore effort "Nevermind". Subsequently "Bleach" went on to sell 1.7 million copies in the U.S. alone, according to Nielsen SoundScan. This 20th-anniversary edition has been remastered from the original tapes at Sterling Sound in a session overseen by producer Jack Endino.

This edition will include an unreleased live recording of a complete February 9, 1990 show at the Pine Street Theatre in Portland, Oregon. The concert features performances of "Love Buzz", "About a Girl" and a cover of THE VASELINES' song "Molly's Lips", and has been remixed from the original tapes by Endino (complete track listing below). A 48-page CD /16-page LP booklet which includes candid photos of the band not previously released to the public will also be included in this deluxe edition.

"Bleach": Deluxe Edition

Story continues after advertisement

01. Blew
02. Floyd the Barber
03. About a Girl
04. School
05. Love Buzz
06. Paper Cuts
07. Negative Creep
08. Scoff
09. Swap Meet
10. Mr. Moustache
11. Sifting
12. Big Cheese
13. Downer

Live at Pine Street Theatre:

01. Intro
02. School
03. Floyd the Barber
04. Dive
05. Love Buzz
06. Spank Thru
07. Molly's Lips
08. Sappy
09. Scoff
10. About a Girl
11. Been a Son
12. Blew

The "Scoff" live recording, taken from the Pine Street Theatre portion of the "Bleach" reissue can be streamed below (click on player to launch audio). (File courtesy of


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).