Veteran metallers OMEN have signed an exclusive digital distribution deal with DSN Music for the release of their new album, "Hammer Damage". The band's eleventh CD is scheduled for a summer release and will be available via online and mobile stores such as, iTunes,, Verizon, and hundreds more worldwide.

"We are extremely excited about signing with DSN Music," said OMEN's Kenny Powell. "This release will be a ride straight into the glory days of metal, no compromises, take no prisoners!"

A rough-mix version of a new OMEN song, "Epitaph", is available for streaming on the band's MySpace page.

OMEN enjoyed national broadcast airplay from the famed rock radio network Z-Rock, thanks to the devotion of high-profile jocks like Madd Maxx Hammer, Wild Bill Scott, and Jason Lee Tipton. "OMEN's 'Thorn in Your Flesh' was getting a lot of airplay and their sound created a lot of excitement and generated great phones!" said Tipton. Records sales soared in markets where the Z-Rock network was carried, fueling a national following for the group.

"We are seeing a new generation of rockers worldwide discovering OMEN via digital technology and other forms of entertainment media" said Giuliano.

OMEN's classic single "The Axeman" from their debut release "Battle Cry" was recently featured on the soundtrack for the heavy metal themed video game "Brütal Legend".

OMEN was formed in Los Angeles, California, in 1983, by lead guitarist Kenny Powell; previously with the rock group SAVAGE GRACE and signed on with Metal Blade Records in 1984, and released their debut album "Battle Cry". In 1985 the second album, "Warning Of Danger", followed, building up OMEN's reputation as one of the forefathers of power metal acts, such as METALLICA, ANTHRAX, MEGADETH, and SLAYER. In 1986, OMEN's successes lead to the release of the blockbuster album "The Curse" on Capitol Records. The hit single "Thorn In Your Flesh" from their release "Escape To Nowhere" topped the metal charts in 1985.

OMEN continued releasing an incredible collection of heavy metal masterpieces over the years, as well as building a loyal fan base via successful worldwide tours.

OMEN in 2008 released a live album, "Into the Arena: 20 Years Live", which contained previously unreleased recordings of the band's original lineup.

OMEN appeared at last year's Keep It True XII festival on April 24-25, 2009 at the Tauberfrankenhalle in Lauda-Königshofen, Germany.

OMEN 2011 is:

Kenny Powell - guitars
Andy Haas - bass
Matt Story - vocals
Wampa - drums


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).