OMEN's 'Hammer Damage' Postponed

The release date of "Hammer Damage", the new album from veteran metallers OMEN, has once again been postponed. Originally due on June 29, the CD has been pushed back after it was determined that hurricane damages to guitarist Kenny Powell's house were greater than the band originally thought and this has caused technical problems with the mixing and mastering of the new record.

Commented Powell: "First off, I hate to be an excuse-maker, but I have had a huge problem with the studio. I have been putting off a new roof on my house until the record was finished. After several days of heavy rain, the studio was flooded and the roof collapsed in. It took me several days to patch things up and clean up all of the equipment. Thankfully, nothing was damaged."

"Hammer Damage" track listing:

01. Hammer Damage
02. Knights Of The Cross
03. Era Of Crisis
04. Epitaph For A Warrior
05. The Canyon
06. Demons
07. Caligula
08. Hellas
09. A.F.U.

OMEN was formed in Los Angeles, California, in 1983, by lead guitarist Kenny Powell; previously with the rock group SAVAGE GRACE and signed on with Metal Blade Records in 1984, and released their debut album "Battle Cry". In 1985 the second album, "Warning Of Danger", followed, building up OMEN's reputation as one of the forefathers of power metal acts, such as METALLICA, ANTHRAX, MEGADETH, and SLAYER. In 1986, OMEN's successes lead to the release of the blockbuster album "The Curse" on Capitol Records. The hit single "Thorn In Your Flesh" from their release "Escape To Nowhere" topped the metal charts in 1985.

OMEN continued releasing an incredible collection of heavy metal masterpieces over the years, as well as building a loyal fan base via successful worldwide tours.

OMEN in 2008 released a live album, "Into the Arena: 20 Years Live", which contained previously unreleased recordings of the band's original lineup.

OMEN appeared at last year's Keep It True XII festival on April 24-25, 2009 at the Tauberfrankenhalle in Lauda-Königshofen, Germany.

OMEN 2012 is:

Kenny Powell - Guitar
Andy Haas - Bass
Matt Story - Vocals
Steve Wittig - Drums


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).