San Francisco Bay Area "blackened, technical post-death metallers" OBLIVION, who feature in their ranks former ALL SHALL PERISH guitarist Ben Orum on bass, have inked a deal with Unique Leader Records.

In addition to Orum, OBLIVION features in its ranks lead singer Dr. Nick Vasallo, a professor of music and internationally acclaimed modernist composer; guitarist Victor Dods, who is completing his PhD in math; guitarist Ted O'Neill, a 25-year veteran from the scene; and drummer Luis Martinez, a young musical phenom trained by Ndugu Chancler.

According to a press release, the band formed with the intent of creating extreme metal music that will last the ages, music that transcends genres and time.

OBLIVION's debut album, "Called To Rise", which was released independently on January 1, will be reissued on October 15 via Unique Leader.

"Called To Rise" track listing:

01. Oblivion Part 1: The Chant Of Tyrants (01:39)
02. Black Veils Of Justice (03:11)
03. Between Suns Of Light (02:50)
04. Binary Souls (03:24)
05. Reclamation (04:11)
06. Canon 1 In E Minor (02:30)
07. Annunaki (03:06)
08. Reigns In Fire (04:59)
09. Cancer Of Wraiths (03:52)
10. Multiverse (04:41)
11. Oblivion Part 2: Infinite Descent (05:34)

The "Reclamation" video can be seen below.

Orum announced his departure from ALL SHALL PERISH in January, explaining in statement that he "could not fulfill [his] duty as a touring musician any longer" due to the fact that he needed to provide for his family. He added: "While I am done with touring, I will never stop writing music. I am joining the extreme metal band OBLIVION as a bassist and contributing songwriter. We are beyond excited to unleash [our debut album] onto the metal world. I've always been into death metal and extreme music, [and] this is my return to true death metal."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).