NORTHER: New Album Details Revealed

Century Media Records will release the new album from Finnish metallers NORTHER, entitled "N", on the following dates:

Feb. 13 - Finland
Feb. 22 - Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Italy, BeNeLux
Feb. 25 - UK, France, Denmark, Greece, Norway
Feb. 26 - Spain, Portugal
Feb. 29 - Sweden, Hungary

The CD was recorded and produced by longtime partner Anssi Kippo (CHILDREN OF BODOM) at Astia Studios and mixed by Fredrik Nordström (DARK TRANQUILLITY, ARCH ENEMY, IN FLAMES) at Studio Fredman in Sweden.

"N" track listing:

01. My Antichrist
02. Frozen Angel
03. Down
04. To Hell
05. Savior
06. Black Gold
07. We Rock
08. Always & Never
09. Tell Me Why
10. If You Go
11. Self-Righteous Fuck
12. Forever And Ever
13. Sabotage (Japanese Bonus Track)

Check out the cover artwork at this location.

The history of NORTHER dates back to the year 1996 when Petri Lindroos (who also joined ENSIFERUM as lead vocalist/guitarist in 2004) and some friends started playing together under the moniker REQUIEM. In 2000 Kristian Ranta (guitar) stepped in and the band released its first demo. It subsequently led to a deal with Spinefarm Records and it did not take long for the guys to find Jukka Koskinen (bass, also in WINTERSUN) and Tuomas Planman (keyboards) to finally create a stable lineup for NORTHER. Within a few years NORTHER became one of the most promising Finnish bands combining the best of death, black and thrash metal with haunting melodies. The albums "Dreams of Endless War" (2002), "Mirror of Madness" (2003, licensed by Century Media Records for U.S. release), "Death Unlimited" (2004) and "Till Death Unites Us" (2006) helped to gather a worldwide fan base.

In 2007, NORTHER left Spinefarm Records to release the "No Way Back" EP, which entered the Finnish charts at #1 and marked the debut for drum talent Heikki Saari. Summer 2007 was highlighted by a successful Wacken Open Air show, followed by an European headliner club tour in October and further progress on completing their new album.

NORTHER lineup:

Kristian Ranta: Guitars, Clean Vocals
Petri Lindroos: Guitars, Vocals
Jukka Koskinen: Bass
Tuomas Planman: Keyboards
Heikki Saari: Drums

NORTHER performing live at Plan B Club in Moscow, Russia on November 24, 2007:

"Hell Hole"



Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details.