NILE's KARL SANDERS Talks About Upcoming Solo Album

NILE guitarist/vocalist Karl Sanders will release his debut solo album, "Saurian Meditation", on October 26 through Relapse Records. The complete track listing for the effort is as follows:

01. Awaiting the Vultures
02. Of the Sleep of Ishtar
03. Luring the Doom Serpent
04. Contemplations of the Endless Abyss
05. The Elder God Shrine
06. Temple of Lunar Ascension
07. Dreaming Through the Eyes of Serpents
08. Whence No Traveller Returns
09. The Forbidden Path Across the Chasm of Self Realisation
10. Beckon the Sick Winds of Pestilence

Asked if the album contains a lot of instrumental songs, Sanders recently had the following to say: "'Whence No Traveler Returns' is completely instrumental as is 'Dreaming Throught he Eyes of Serpents'. But mostly, the vocals take on a non-traditional role. There is only one [song] — 'Of the Sleep of Ishtar' — that is what you would call verse-chorus vocalizing with normal words.

"A lot of what [guest vocalist] Mike [Breazeale] does is altered-consciousness ambient stuff, as in 'Awaiting the Vultures' or 'Luring the Doom Serpent', where he isn't really lead-vocalizing, more like chantings that weave inside the Baglama Saz and acoustic guitar set against exotic atmospheres, or vaguely functioning as ritual chaos, like in 'The Elder God Shrine', which has some big choir-like chants and gutteral voodoo vocalizing. Some pieces seem like instrumentals, and only technically have vocals — but they are not necessarily front and center — like 'Beckon the Sick Winds of Pestilence', where Mike imitates the sound of an African tribe heard from across the Serenghetti . But by and large that song is some sort of Ancient African Apocalypse complete with moaning and droning dying-in-the-sunset electric guitars. One of the songs is the exact opposite of an instrumental — 'Contemplations of the Endless Abyss' where EVERY sound (except the gongs of course) is Mike's voice — all the droning , dreamlike drifting in the abyss sounds that one would think must be some kind of keyboard are all derived from Mike's voice, layered and manipulated into otherworldly ambiences."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).