NEW YORK DOLLS: New Album Artwork Unveiled

NEW YORK DOLLS will release their fifth full-length album, "Dancing Backward in High Heels", in North America on March 15 via 429 Records and in Europe on March 11 through Global Music. The follow-up to 2009's "Cause I Sez So" was created at Blast Recording Studios in Newcastle, England with producer Jason Hill (LOUIS XIV, THE KILLERS) and features original members David Johansen (vocals) and Sylvain Sylvain (guitar) alongside Brian Delaney (drums), Jason Hill (bass) and Frank Infante (guitar).

"Dancing Backward in High Heels" track listing:

01. Fool For You Baby
02. Streetcake
03. I'm So Fabulous
04. Talk to Me Baby
05. Kids Like You
06. Round And Round She Goes
07. You Don't Have To Cry
08. I Sold My Heart To The Junkman
09. Baby Tell Me What I'm On
10. Funky But Chic
11. End Of The Summer

Check out audio samples at this location.

The CD will be packaged with a bonus DVD filmed during the recording of the album, incorporating previous unseen footage from the bands three sold-out performances at The Cluny venue in Newcastle, and four live audio tracks from the same show.

Sylvain Sylvain stated about the new recording: "I think this is the most creative record that THE NEW YORK DOLLS, and me and David in particular, have ever done. We've worked with a lot of great people and I'm not putting anybody down and I'm not trying to compare it with earlier versions of the DOLLS, but as far as songwriting goes, I think that these are the best songs that we have ever come up with."

"Cause I Sez So" sold 3,900 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 159 on The Billboard 200 chart.

The NEW YORK DOLLS swaggered onto the New York music scene in the early '70s, influencing a generation with its subversive mix of high-decibel rock and high-heeled androgyny. The original band recorded a pair of milestone records — "New York Dolls" (1973) and "Too Much Too Soon" (1974) — before breaking up in 1977. The surviving members reformed the group in 2004 to much acclaim, but soon lost bassist Arthur Kane to leukemia. Two years later, Johansen and Sylvain reunited again to record the NEW YORK DOLLS' third studio album, "One Day It Will Please Us To Remember Even This".


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details.