NEVERMORE: 'The Obsidian Conspiracy' U.S. First-Week Sales Revealed

"The Obsidian Conspiracy", the new album from Seattle metallers NEVERMORE, sold around 4,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 134 on The Billboard 200 chart. The CD landed at position No. 1 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

NEVERMORE's previous album, "This Godless Endeavor", opened with 5,000 units back in August 2005.

Commented NEVERMORE vocalist Warrel Dane: "We are so lucky to have such amazing and diehard fans and we can't thank them all enough for going out the first week of release to support us while helping us achieve the highest Billboard chart entry of our career.

"It's an amazing feeling to see such impressive sales in this ever-changing retail climate and this is just the beginning for us as we're planning on touring the world extensively to support this release.

"We are taking off to Europe tomorrow but will be travelling around all of North America this fall playing our most extensive headlining set ever, so be sure to come out and hang with us. We promise that it will be a night you will never forget.

"Thanks again for all of the support and see you all soon."

"The Obsidian Conspiracy" has registered the following first-week chart positions:

Germany: #13
Austria: #34
Switzerland: #40
Netherlands: #69 (Dutch Alternative Chart - #10)
Belgium: #87
Denmark: #91
USA: #134

"The Obsidian Conspiracy" is available in the following formats:

* Regular 10 song edition
* Limited-edition digipack featuring the cover song "Temptation" (originally done by THE TEA PARTY)
* iTunes version featuring the cover song "Crystal Ship" (originally done by THE DOORS).
* LP version with a bonus 7" featuring the cover songs "Temptation" and "Crystal Ship"
* Limited-edition, import-only box set only available at CM Distro in North America

The limited box set edition features the two cover versions — "The Crystal Ship" and "Temptation" — and a bonus "Play The Guitar Like Jeff Loomis" disc containing '"Your Poison Throne" and "The Obsidian Conspiracy" play-along videos and guitar tabs for both songs.

"The Obsidian Conspiracy" track listing:

01. The Termination Proclamation
02. Your Poison Throne
03. Moonrise (Through Mirrors Of Death)
04. And The Maiden Spoke
05. Emptiness Unobstructed
06. The Blue Marble And The New Soul
07. Without Morals
08. The Day You Built The Wall
09. She Comes In Colors
10. The Obsidian Conspiracy
11. Crystal Ship (THE DOORS cover; bonus track)
12. Temptation (THE TEA PARTY cover; bonus track)

NEVERMORE has tapped a "very talented" Hungarian guitar player by the name of Attila Voros to play second guitar on the band's current tour.

The drum tracks for "The Obsidian Conspiracy" were completed in the group's hometown of Seattle with SOILWORK guitarist Peter Wichers, who previously worked with Warrel Dane on the singer's solo debut, "Praises to the War Machine". Longtime friend and collaborator Andy Sneap (MEGADETH, ARCH ENEMY, EXODUS, MACHINE HEAD) once again handled mixing duties. The captivating and dynamic cover art was created by the great Travis Smith (OPETH, KATATONIA) .

NEVERMORE will embark on its first North American headlining tour in almost three years this fall. The trek, which kicks off on September 23 and runs through November 5, will also feature WARBRINGER, MUTINY WITHIN and HATESPHERE in the support slots.

All tickets are on sale exclusively through until June 19 at which point they will be made available through all normal ticketing systems.

There will be a limited number of VIP tickets available which gets fans early entry before doors for a pre-show NEVERMORE meet-and-greet.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).