MOONSTONE PROJECT, the ambitious musical creature of Italian guitarist Matt Filippini, has inked a worldwide deal with Blistering Records for the project's new album "Rebel On The Run".

According to a press release, "Rebel On The Run" features the amazing voice of James Christian (HOUSE OF LORDS) on all but one track. That 11th track happens to be "Closer Than You Think", a soulful original written and performed by the voice of rock himself, Glenn Hughes (DEEP PURPLE, BLACK SABBATH).

Regarding the spontaneous creation of the Hughes cut, Filippini recalls, "'Closer Than You Think' is a beautiful gift from Glenn. He wrote that magical piece while I was at his house in L.A. We were watching TV in his living room and suddenly he ran into his studio, picked up his guitar and five minutes later the song was born!"

This vibe of immediate cosmic generation permeates the album, though with two years of blood, sweat and tears in the production, no detail was left unpolished on this labor of love.

While the predecessor to this release, "Hidden In Time", has become a reissued collectible favorite in the neo-classic rock underground, that album related more the "project" part of the group's name, with 10 different singers and 20 musicians collaborating. "Rebel On The Run" has an intentionally more consistent "band" feel. But fret not, there are still plenty of stunning guest appearances from hard rock royalty Ian Paice (DEEP PURPLE) and Clive Bunker (JETHRO TULL) on drums to legendary Hammond organ maestro Ken Hensley (URIAH HEEP) adding his distinct, wild keyboard flourishes! Lead vocalist James Christian's wife, solo artist Robin Beck, also layers many unique backing vocals into the colorful fabric of this warm recording.

The masterminds behind the ambitious operation are guitarist Matt Filippini and his co-writing/producing studio wizard keyboardist, Alessandro Del Vecchio. The music is solidified by the powerful MOONSTONE bassist Nik Mazzucconi, U.D.O. drummer Francesco Jovino, live drummer Alex Mori and backing singer Roberto Tiranti (LABYRINTH).

Spring and summer concerts to support the album are already being announced, starring Glenn Hughes, as well as a festival and fall tour featuring former RAINBOW/YNGWIE MALMSTEEN crooner Doogie White!

"Rebel On The Run" is scheduled for a late May release.

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. Moonster Booster
02. Shooting Star
03. One Dollar Babe
04. From Another Time
05. Cosmic Blues
06. Madman
07. Halfway To Heaven
08. Closer Than You Think
09. Hey Mama
10. Rebel On The Run
11. Sinner, Sinner

Upcoming MOONSTONE PROJECT concerts:

Mar. 08 - University Square, Tirana (Albania) (feat. Glenn Hughes)
Mar. 10 - Black Horse, Cermenate CO (Italy) (feat. Glenn Hughes)
May 15 - Motorock Festival, Cremona (Italy) (feat. Doogie White)
Jul. 18 - Parco Comunale, Taino VA (Italy) (feat. Glenn Hughes)

For more information, visit


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).