MONSTER MAGNET Frontman Talks About His Drug Overdose

MONSTER MAGNET frontman Dave Wyndorf recently spoke to U.K.-based music journalist Dave Ling about the occasion on which an overdose on prescription drugs almost killed him on February 27, 2006.

"It had been a long time coming," recounts Wyndorf. "Eveything began when I couldn't sleep on tour, so the doctors gave me something that would put down a wild animal. This was an anti-anxiety drug; the stuff that airline pilots and astronauts use. I was doing a lot of transatlantic flying, and on a plane one day I just started gobbling them down. All of my paranoias came at me like a giant, three-headed beast. My biggest mistake was not asking for help. The things are supposed to clear you mind before you go to sleep. They wipe out all the worries and concerns you might have, but what I didn't understand is that it's like a computer..."

Everything just re-boots when you switch on again? "Exactly," he replies. "The problems are not deleted, in fact they get magnified by ten. It was fucking horrible. I was utterly powerless, on a slipperly slope. I don't recall doing it but on the day concerned I took the whole Goddamn bottle — a hundred pills, man, just like they were a shot glass — and the next thing I knew, I woke up in a fucking loony bin."

Having sampled their upside and downside, even forged a career spent singing about them, Wyndorf is in a pretty unique position to talk about drugs. "They're supposedly a gateway into creativity," he muses. "And you know what? It's all a myth. They suck, and they'll get you in the end. They certainly got me."

As previously reported, MONSTER MAGNET has set "4 Way Diablo" was the title of its new album, due on November 2, 2007 via SPV Records. The CD was produced by Matt Hyde and features a cover version of THE ROLLING STONES' "2,000 Light Years from Home".

"4 Way Diablo" track listing:

01. 4 Way Diablo
02. Wall of Fire
03. You're Alive
04. Blow Your Mind
05. Cyclone
06. 2000 Light Years from Home (THE ROLLNG STONES cover)
07. No Vacation
08. I'm Calling You
09. Solid Gold
10. Freeze and Pixillate
11. A Thousand Stars
12. Slap in the Face
13. Little Bag of Gloom

Hyde, who worked with MONSTER MAGNET on their "Powertrip" and "God Says No" releases, stated about the band's new CD back in March 2006, "I believe it has the potential to be their best record since 'Powertrip'."

MONSTER MAGNET's last studio album, "Monolithic Baby", was released in 2004 via SPV.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).