METALLICA's LARS ULRICH: New Album To Arrive Next Spring

Sweden's TV4 interviewed METALLICA drummer Lars Ulrich earlier today (July 12) approximately two hours before the band's headlining performance at Stadion in Stockholm. Watch the 12-minute unedited question-and-answer session at this location.

When asked about METALLICA's upcoming studio album, which the group has been working on for the past few months, Ulrich replied, "It's the first time in almost 20 years that we're working with a producer other than Bob Rock. We're working with Rick Rubin, who's made records with everybody from the CHILI PEPPERS to JOHNNY CASH to SLIPKNOT to whatever… So we're excited to be working with a different producer. It's interesting, it's stimulating. The stuff that I've heard… [Laughs] … which is pretty much all of it, is very heavy, a little more dynamic than the last record, 'St. Anger', and I think that what he's really trying to do is capture an excitement and capture kind of a moment and trying to get us away from spending too much time thinking about what we're doing so he's trying to get us just to play in the studio. It sounds like it has a lot of energy and a lot of kid of good, energetic moments. But James [Hetfield] is gonna start singing in August and [we'll] do some overdubs. We're gonna spend another couple of months in the fall to finish the overdubs and we should hopefully mix the record by November and have it out in the early spring."

High-quality photos of METALLICA's Stockholm concert can be found at

METALLICA's setlist for Stockholm concert:

01. Creeping Death
02. For Whom The Bell Tolls
03. Ride The Lightning
04. Disposable Heroes
05. The Unforgiven
06. ...And Justice For All
07. The Memory Remains
08. No Leaf Clover
09. Orion
10. Fade To Black
11. Master of Puppets
12. Whiplash
- - - -
13. Sad But True
14. Nothing Else Matters
15. One
16. Enter Sandman
- - - -
17. The Four Horsemen
18. Seek and Destroy

A soundboard recording of METALLICA's new track, tentatively dubbed "The Other New Song", recorded during the band's appearance on June 29, 2007 at the Bilbao BBK Live festival in in Bilbao, Spain has been posted at YouTube. METALLICA previously played the same track live on August 15, 2006 at Seoul Olympic Main Stadium in Seoul, South Korea (watch professionally filmed video footage with soundboard audio at this location).

A high-quality video clip of METALLICA performing the "first" new song during their headlining appearance at the Gelredome in Arnhem, Holland on June 8, 2006 as part of their "Escape From The Studio '06" European tour is available at YouTube.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).