METALLICA: Pro-Shot Footage Of Entire 'Weenie Roast' Performance Available

METALLICA topped the bill for the annual "Weenie Roast" festival sponsored by Los Angeles radio station KROQ-FM. The show, which took place last night (Saturday, May 17) at the Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre in Irvine, California, also featured sets from THE OFFSPRING, THE RACONTEURS, RISE AGAINST, PENNYWISE, THE BRAVERY, SEETHER, SCARS ON BROADWAY and more.

METALLICA's setlist for the concert was as follows:

01. Creeping Death
02. Fuel
03. For Whom the Bell Tolls
04. Unforgiven
05. Wherever I May Roam
06. Harvester of Sorrow
07. The Memory Remains
08. Fade to Black
09. Master of Puppets
10. Battery
11. Sad But True
12. One
13. Enter Sandman
14. So What!
15. Seek and Destroy

Watch professionally filmed footage of METALLICA's entire performance below (courtesy of "Finck310").

High-quality photos of last night's show can be viewed at this location (courtesy of

METALLICA has tapped Greg Fidelman an engineer/producer who has worked with current METALLICA producer Rick Rubin on albums for the RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS, SYSTEM OF A DOWN, SLIPKNOT and AUDIOSLAVE, among others to mix its much-anticipated new album, due out in September.

During a May 14 interview with The Pulse of Radio, Ulrich said that the group hopes to wrap up work on the album in time for the Memorial Day weekend holiday. "It's pretty close," he said. "We've got four studio days next week to just patch up. If there's a last minute, you know, 'that needs this...' or but pretty much done. Yeah, it's pretty much done. And then they start mixing the week after."

Ulrich said METALLICA wrote 26 songs for the new CD but ended up finalizing about 14 of them with producer Rick Rubin. A total of 11 have actually been tracked for the album, though Ulrich said "length issues" might mean one more has to be eliminated.

"These are long songs ... we're talking seven-minute, eight-minute, nine-minute nutty-ass songs," Ulrich revealed. "We don't make them long or short on purpose; you just kind of do what feels natural. We're not really gonna edit them, (so) we're gonna lose another one at some point in the next month or so and probably end up with 10."

Ulrich described the material as "definitely pretty all over the place. There's a lot of variation, a lot of fast, slow, melodic ... kind of hardcore, nutty super-fast speed stuff. It's a little more like how some of the earlier records were a little more dynamic within the songs."

The drummer also said that METALLICA will begin a full-length tour in October, shortly after the new CD arrives.

The band next plays the Bonnaroo festival in mid-June, a series of European festivals, and the newly configured one-day Ozzfest this August in Dallas.

"Creeping Death":


"For Whom the Bell Tolls":

"The Unforgiven":

"Wherever I May Roam":

"Harvester of Sorrow":

"The Memory Remains":

"Fade to Black":

"Master Of Puppets":


"Sad but True":


"Enter Sandman":

"So What?!":

"Seek and Destroy":

End of Show:

(Thanks: Chris Schrader)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).