METALLICA: Pro-Shot 'Big Four' Jam Footage From Gelsenkirchen Posted Online

Professionally filmed video footage of the July 2 "Big Four" jam at Veltins Arena in Gelsenkirchen, Germany can be seen below.

A 17-minute clip featuring performance, meet-and-greet and tuning-room jam footage from the Gelsenkirchen concert can be found at

Gelsenkirchen was the first stop on the current European tour by the so-called "Big Four" bands of 1980s thrash metal METALLICA, MEGADETH, SLAYER and ANTHRAX.

The highly anticipated onstage performance of the "Big Four" bands at the same time happened near the end of METALLICA's set, between "Enter Sandman" and "Battery". Members of ANTHRAX and MEGADETH joined METALLICA on stage for a cover of DIAMOND HEAD's "Helpless" (with MEGADETH mainman Dave Mustaine cranking out the guitar solo) before METALLICA ended the night with "Creeping Death".

SLAYER couldn't join the Gelsenkirchen jam due to their travel arrangements to get to the following night's concert. Andreas Kisser (SEPULTURA) is filling in for ANTHRAX's Scott Ian on the tour and took part in the jam.

In announcing the Gelsenkirchen "Big Four" jam, METALLICA guitarist/vocalist James Hetfield said from the stage, "We need to celebrate The 'Big Four' is here And also celebrate METALLICA's thirty years. Unbelievable! And these other bands aren't far behind. Beautiful. And it's through the love and support from all of our fans that keep us going for thirty years. So thank you! So we're gonna play a song together. And maybe you've seen the ['Big Four'] DVD where we played [DIAMOND HEAD's] 'Am I Evil?' We're trying to mix it up a little bit, do some different songs. So we'll see what happens In the spirit and beauty of heavy metal and a jam, we'll see what happens. Let's invite everyone up here We're not sure who's here . . . OK, this is a different songs from DIAMOND HEAD. Let's see if we get it [right]."

METALLICA's setlist for the Gelsenkirchen concert was as follows:

01. Hit the Lights
02. Master of Puppets
03. The Shortest Straw
04. Seek & Destroy
05. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
06. The Memory Remains
07. All Nightmare Long
08. Sad But True
09. Wherever I May Roam
10. The Call of Ktulu
11. One
12. For Whom the Bell Tolls
13. Blackened
14. Fade to Black
15. Enter Sandman


16. Helpless (w/ MEGADETH, ANTHRAX)
17. Battery
18. Creeping Death

Photos below courtesy of


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).