METALLICA Debuts New Song At OZZFEST; Video Available

METALLICA premiered a brand new song called "Cyanide" during the band's co-headlining set at the one-day Ozzfest last night (Saturday, August 9) at Pizza Hut Park in Dallas. The track is the first taste of METALLICA's forthcoming album, "Death Magnetic" to be aired in a live setting. The official video footage of the song can be viewed below.

METALLICA's Ozzfest 2008 setlist:

01. Creeping Death
02. For Whom The Bell Tolls
03. Ride The Lightning
04. Harvester Of Sorrow
05. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
06. Cyanide (new song)
07. ...And Justice For All
08. No Remorse
09. Fade To Black
10. Master Of Puppets
11. Damage Inc.
12. Nothing Else Matters
13. Sad But True
14. One
15. Enter Sandman
- - - - -
16. (MERCYFUL FATE medley feat. King Diamond)
17. Seek And Destroy

METALLICA has officially set Friday, September 12 as the "worldwide" release date for "Death Magnetic". The CD will be available to download for Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock on the same day the album arrives in stores.

The band is offering the record for sale in numerous configurations, ranging from a digital-only release to a deluxe "coffin box" that will come with a bonus CD, a DVD, a T-shirt, guitar picks and other goodies.

Although Dallas was the only Ozzfest date scheduled for this year, METALLICA's name has come up a lot in recent years as a possible headliner or co-headliner. Drummer Lars Ulrich told The Pulse of Radio he was happy that METALLICA was finally doing it. "I don't think we've ever been invited before," he said. "You know, I've gone to a couple of Ozzfests. I think it's been awesome. I mean, it's such a great institution and it's done so much for metal in America. Ozzy and Sharon gave us our first big break in America in 1986. I will always respect that. They've been great to us. So it's cool. I'm psyched. Should be good fun."

METALLICA toured as an opening act for Ozzy in 1986 while supporting its breakthrough album, "Master of Puppets".

Ozzfest began in 1996 as a single show held in Los Angeles, but expanded to a full summer tour for the past 11 years, including last year's "free" event. Both Ozzy and Sharon Osbourne have indicated that it will be a full-blown tour again next year.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).