MERCYFUL FATE, ARMORED SAINT Members Perform With METALLICA At Second 30th-Anniversary Show

Lou Reed, King Diamond (MERCYFUL FATE), Hank Shermann (MERCYFUL FATE), Timi Hansen (MERCYFUL FATE), Michael Denner (MERCYFUL FATE) , Marianne Faithfull, Ray Haller (SWEET SAVAGE), Kid Rock and John Bush (ARMORED SAINT) joined METALLICA on stage last night (Wednesday, December 7) for the second of four intimate shows at the Fillmore in San Francisco as part of the week-long celebration of its 30th anniversary as a band for fan club members only.

After opening sets from THE SOUL REBELS brass band and ARMORED SAINT, as well as an appearance by ANTHRAX guitarist Scott Ian — who took to the stage with METALLICA guitarist Kirk Hammett to tell stories of hanging out with late METALLICA bassist Cliff BurtonMETALLICA rocked the capacity crowd with a 20-song set which featured selections from all periods of the band's career, including a previously unreleased track from the "Death Magnetic" sessions called "Just A Bullet Away".

The band's setlist was as follows:

01. To Live Is To Die (premiere)
02. Enter Sandman
03. Holier Than Thou
04. Disposable Heroes
05. Bleeding Me
06. Wasting My Hate
07. My Apocalypse
08. Just A Bullet Away (previously unreleased song from "Death Magnetic" sessions; premiere)
09. Breadfan (BUDGIE cover) (with METALLICA fan Andrew Dowis)
10. The Memory Remains (with Marianne Faithful)
11. Killing Time (SWEET SAVAGE cover) (with Ray Haller)
12. Turn The Page (with Kid Rock)
13. The Four Horsemen (with John Bush)
14. Iced Honey (with Lou Reed)
15. The View (with Lou Reed)
16. White Light/White Heat (with Lou Reed)
17. Creeping Death (with Jason Newsted)
18. Battery (with Jason Newsted)
19. Mercyful Fate Medley (MERCYFUL FATE cover) (with Hank Shermann, Michael Denner, Timi Hansen and King Diamond)
20. Seek & Destroy (with Jason Newsted, Scott Ian, Ray Haller, John Bush, Joey Vera, Gonzo Sandoval, and THE SOUL REBELS)

Story continues after advertisement

METALLICA kicked off its week-long celebration of the band's 30th anniversary in spectacular style at the Fillmore in San Francisco on Monday night (December 5), welcoming former bassist Jason Newsted and many other metal stars to the stage while playing a 21-song set that delved deep into the band's catalog and even included a previously unheard track from the sessions for 2008's "Death Magnetic" album. (Check out video footage and photos of the first 30th-anniversary concert at this location.)

In addition to Newsted, METALLICA was joined by former guitar tech and METAL CHURCH guitarist John Marshall, SAXON vocalist Biff Byford, Brian Tatler and Sean Harris of DIAMOND HEAD — with whom they played four of that band's songs — and all the members of opening act APOCALYPTICA at various points. The show also featured a salute to 86-year-old Ray Burton, father of late METALLICA bassist Cliff Burton.

METALLICA frontman James Hetfield told The Pulse Of Radio he had a wishlist of people he hopes can make it for the remaining gigs. "Well, Lemmy [Kilmister, MOTÖRHEAD mainman] for sure. Ozzy. And then, you know, there's lots of other people along that way. Tony Iommi [guitarist, BLACK SABBATH], I mean, all the bands that we've admired over time, some of the bands that maybe have supported us, you know, from ARMORED SAINT and blah blah know, there's so much, so many great moments that could be had."

The last two shows will take place on Friday (December 9) and Saturday (December 10), with special guests and events, rare songs, varied set lists and more.

The band has booked several European shows next summer, including one at a venue in Denmark that used to be a prison, at which it will perform its self-titled 1991 effort, a.k.a. "the black album," in its entirety.

METALLICA was formed when Ulrich, who had moved to Los Angeles from Denmark, placed an ad in a local paper called The Recycler looking for other musicians to play with. The ad was answered by guitarists James Hetfield and Hugh Tanner of the band LEATHER CHARM.

METALLICA officially formed in October 1981 and the band's first recording was "Hit The Lights" for the compilation "Metal Massacre".

Bay Area DJ Ron Quintana came up with the group's name: he was debating between using "Metallica" and "Metal Mania" for the name of his radio show and Ulrich encouraged him to use "Metal Mania" so that he could use "Metallica" for his new band.

METALLICA's first full lineup — featuring Hetfield, Ulrich, guitarist Dave Mustaine and bassist Ron McGovney — played its first gig on March 14, 1982 at Radio City in Anaheim, California.


Photos below courtesy of


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).