'Megadeth Bass Anthology' Due Next Month

Hal Leonard has set a November 4 release date the "Megadeth Bass Anthology", featuring 20 of the finest from these thrash masters, with David Ellefson's awesome bass lines transcribed note for note with tab.

Featured songs:

* Countdown To Extinction
* Dawn Patrol
* Five Magics
* Hangar 18
* Head Crusher
* Holy Wars ... The Punishment Due
* In My Darkest Hour
* My Last Words
* 99 Ways To Die
* Peace Sells
* Sleepwalker
* Sweating Bullets
* Symphony Of Destruction
* Take No Prisoners
* Tornado Of Souls
* A Tout Le Monde (Set Me Free)
* Train Of Consequences
* Trust
* Wake Up Dead
* Youthanasia

In a 2010 interview with Bass Player magazine, Ellefson stated about his technique: "I'm not a hacker and slasher; my action is fairly low and I'm very meticulous and in control. I play with a pick predominantly, while muting the strings at the bridge to varying degrees with my palm. I hold the pick between my right thumb and index finger and sometimes my index nail hits the string slightly ahead of the pick, which gives the note a double-percussive attack. At the end of the night my nail is shaved down and I've even drawn blood, but hey, it's rock & roll. I strike the strings midway between the pickups, and I use butterfly up-and-down strokes.

Story continues after advertisement

"In the left hand, I basically use a one-finger-per-fret; my old Mel Bay books taught me to keep my thumb down behind the neck and play with my fingertips — there's not as much flesh on the string, which results in very defined, clear notes. Occasionally, I'll pluck with my alternating index and middle fingers, like on the song 'Trust'. I learned how to slap, but I never use it; I did do some tapping on 'Take No Prisoners', and I played some harmonics on 'Poison Was The Cube' [all from 'Rust In Peace'].

"Overall, I'd say 50 percent of MEGADETH's sound comes from righthand technique. I pick, mute, and phrase the same way as the guitar players. For example, Dave [Mustaine] often upstrokes his root-5th power chords so the 5th comes first; I do that, too, to match him. It's those nuances and subtleties that set us apart from anyone else attempting our music."



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).