MANOWAR Singer: RONNIE JAMES DIO Was 'The First God Of Metal'

The third and final promotional video for "Magic - A Tribute to Ronnie James Dio", a new CD featuring Magic Circle Music artists and friends performing some of Dio's most inspired work, can be viewed below. The latest clip features MANOWAR vocalist Eric Adams and guitarist Karl Logan talking about Ronnie James Dio's immense influence on the heavy rock genre and paying tribute to the man Adams calls "the first god of metal."

"Magic - A Tribute to Ronnie James Dio" is described in a press release as "especially poignant because Dio hails from the same fertile upstate New York soil as MANOWAR," which owns Magic Circle Music.

MANOWAR contributes a powerful rendition of the BLACK SABBATH song "Heaven And Hell". JACK STARR'S BURNING STARR and the MAGIC CIRCLE ALL STAR BAND (with Shmoulik Avigal and Joe Stump) contribute the classics "Catch The Rainbow" and "Long Live Rock 'n' Roll" and Ronnie's cousin and former ELF guitarist David "Rock" Feinstein delivers a song titled "Far Beyond". The album is rounded out by several tenacious, up-and-coming bands, such as female-fronted HOLYHELL, featuring the voice of Maria Breon (called by many "the female Dio") as well as METALFORCE, AWAKEN and CROSSWIND, all of whom embrace Dio's legacy in their own inspired interpretations of his songs on "Magic".

In tribute to Dio's legacy, famous fantasy painter and illustrator Ken Kelly, the man behind many of heavy metal's most classic album covers (including some by MANOWAR) has reworked his iconic RAINBOW "Rising" artwork for "Magic".

"Magic - A Tribute To Ronnie James Dio" was released on Magic Circle Music's online store Kingdom of Steel on June 18, and will be made available in Germany on July 16, in the U.S. and Canada on July 20 and further international territories in the forthcoming weeks. The album will also be available at the merchandise booth of all upcoming MANOWAR live appearances, starting at the Sonisphere festival in Sofia, Bulgaria on June 23.

"Magic - A Tribute To Ronnie James Dio" track listing:

01. MANOWAR - Heaven And Hell
02. HOLYHELL - Holy Diver (Live In Norway)
03. METALFORCE - The Last In Line
04. MAGIC CIRCLE ALL STAR BAND - Long Live Rock'n Roll
05. AWAKEN - I Speed At Night
06. CROSSWIND - A Light In The Black
07. DEAN CASCIONE - Never More
08. FEINSTEIN - Far Beyond
09. HARLET - Straight Through The Heart
10. JACK STARR'S BURNING STARR - Catch The Rainbow


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).