Malaysia's LANGSUYR Delay Album Release in Wake Of 'Black Metal Witch Hunt'

Malaysia's premier "oriental death metal" act LANGSUYR have pushed back the release date of their debut album, entitled "Asyik". Originally scheduled to be released in November, the album was delayed due to the "black metal witch hunt" in Malaysia, according to a press release.

LANGSUYR were already blacklisted by the Malaysian authorities in the wake of their black metal influences in the year 2000. The group, however, denied all the allegations thrown at them. Clockwork Records' decision to delay the release of the CD is being attributed to the fact that the album faced a very real possibility of being banned and ultimately never seeing the light of day.

LANGSUYR recently signed a two-album contract with Clockwork, which is distributed by Warner (Malaysia). The band shot their first video clip for the song "Sunut" last week, to be included on a VCD that will accompany the album. The VCD will also contain interviews and some gig highlights. An excerpt of all the songs can be streamed at this location.

"Asyik" track listing:

Story continues after advertisement

01. Asyik
i. Kelibat
ii. Laila Majnun
iii. Kelam/Terang
iv. Seloka Leka Bernyawa
v. Akhir Tamu
02. Liberalisasi Songsang
03. Bedal
04. Sunut
05. Kau Racun
06. Mata Air


* "Sunut" video clip
* Interviews
* Gig highlights


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).