MACHINE HEAD: 'The Blackening' Artwork Revealed

The cover artwork for MACHINE HEAD's upcoming sixth studio album, "The Blackening", has been posted online at this location. The artwork was created by longtime MACHINE HEAD artist Paul Brown (MARILYN MANSON).

Regarding the cover image, MACHINE HEAD frontman Robert Flynn previously told The Gauntlet, "It's a metal carving from the 1500s. Back then they used a lot of crude metal carving images… almost as propaganda. It was kind of like scaring people about going to hell or whatever. A lot of it had to do with devils and death and stuff like that. They were eventually banned for a while.

"The cover right now is like a skeleton sitting on a throne with his foot on top of the world and he's holding up a mirror and the mirror says 'The mirror which flatters not.'

"The reason we chose that image is that this whole record is like holding up a mirror to ourselves. It's talking about things that are going on now, but it's not necessarily specific to this time.

Story continues after advertisement

"There are two songs that have a pretty strong anti-war sentiment, but it's not the type of thing that's just about this war, you know what I mean? It's not necessarily a concept record in that sense, because the songs don't all tie together thematically. There isn't a story being told. I probably would have lost my mind if I would have had to tie all the lyrics together (laughs). It is about holding up a mirror to society."

Tentatively due on March 27 via Roadrunner Records (one day earlier internationally), "The Blackening" was recorded at Sharkbite Studios in Oakland, CA, with MACHINE HEAD frontman Robert Flynn returning to the producer's chair, and Mark Keaton once again handling engineering duties. Longtime MACHINE HEAD collaborator Colin Richardson (CANNIBAL CORPSE, TRIVIUM, BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE) mixed the record alongside Flynn in London.

"The Blackening" final track listing:

01. Clenching the Fists of Dissent
02. Beautiful Mourning
03. Aesthetics of Hate
04. Now I Lay Thee Down
05. Slanderous
06. Halo
07. Wolves
08. A Farewell to Arms

MACHINE HEAD frontman Robert Flynn will be the featured guest on next week's (January 15/16) installment of BBC Radio 1's "Rock Show". The program, which is hosted by Daniel P. Carter, airs Monday nights/Tuesday mornings between 12:00 midnight and 2:00 a.m. local U.K. time (7:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m. EST). You can listen to the show live on the Internet at this location.

As previously reported, MACHINE HEAD will be IRON MAIDEN frontman Bruce Dickinson's guests on Saturday, January 13 during Bruce's weekly BBC 6 Music radio show, aptly named "Rock Show". Listen to the program live via the Internet between 9:00 p.m. and 12:00 a.m. (midnight) U.K. time (between 3:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. EST) at


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).