MACHINE HEAD Frontman Plays First-Ever Solo Acoustic Show; Video Available

Guitarist/vocalist Robb Flynn of San Francisco Bay Area metallers MACHINE HEAD played his first-ever solo acoustic show last night (Monday, January 21) at On The Rox in Hollywood, California. The performance was part of a five-concert solo run around Flynn's appearance at this year's NAMM (National Association Of Music Merchants) show, which is being held January 25-27 at the Anaheim Convention Center in Anaheim, California.

Commented Flynn: "I did the full 10-day master cleanse back in May 2011 during the recording of 'Unto The Locust'. I sang most of the vocal tracks and played a lot of the guitar tracks while on The Cleanse. It was great, put me in a good headspace. I only managed a disappointing three-day last year, but I wasn't sober.

"As part of my rehab, I've booked some small acoustic shows at clubs and bars along the way down to L.A. for NAMM. Just me and my tech Scott driving all over California in my 4-Runner, trying to... I dunno... trying to get lost, I guess. Half cover songs, half MACHINE HEAD tunes, all done acoustic, no setlist, making it up as I go. I played last night in Hollywood and it was really, really cool. Had a blast, told stories, laughed, it got pretty heavy at times, hung with some great people, it was therapeutic as fuck.

"I need to do this. I need to challenge myself, I need to go out there and play some shows, get out of my comfort zone and shake myself up, be alone, on my own. I'm not happy right now, I need to figure this shit out, I need it find that fire again, inspiration, or, I don't know even what I'm searching for, something, and I feel like this might help me find a part of it. It's the most excited I've been about something in a long while."

Story continues after advertisement

The setlist for last night's performance was as follows:

01. Die Young (BLACK SABBATH cover)
02. Now I Lay Thee Down
03. Sunshine (ALICE IN CHAINS cover)
04. Descend The Shades Of Night
05. Aerials (SYSTEM OF A DOWN cover)
06. The Burning Red
07. Everlong (FOO FIGHTERS cover)
08. Davidian *
09. Darkness Within (acoustic)

* with fan on vocals

Remaining dates:

Jan. 23 - Riverside, CA - Mission Tobacco Lounge
Jan. 24 - San Diego, CA - Brick By Brick
Jan. 25 - Anaheim, CA - NAMM
Jan. 26 - Fullerton, CA - The Slidebar Rock-N-Roll Kitchen

Photo credit: Stephanie Cabral


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).