Listen To New HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS Song 'Starlighter (Echo, Utah)'

Listen To New HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS Song 'Starlighter (Echo, Utah)'

HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS' new song "Starlighter (Echo, Utah)" can be streamed below. The track is taken from the band's upcoming album, "Bad Frequencies", which is due out April 27 via Pure Noise Records.

"Bad Frequencies" was produced by HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS along with Nick Ingram, and mixed by Cameron Webb (NOFX, SOCIAL DISTORTION). The band previously worked with Ingram on the "Hurt" EP as well as Webb for "Push Me Away" which was released last summer ahead of their full run on the Vans Warped Tour.

HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS frontman JT Woodruff told Rock Sound about "Starlighter (Echo, Utah)": "I wrote the lyrics to 'Starlighter' after the worst drive of my life, in the mountains of Utah. There was snow pouring everywhere, the van I was driving didn't have heat or defrost, and the passenger was wiping the window frantically with the sock he was wearing, so I could see the road. It was 14 miles till the next exit, and our lives kept flashing before our eyes. When we eventually made it safely to an exit, we left the van in the middle of the parking lot, checked in to a room, and when I stopped trembling, I wrote lyrics about summer. I needed to get my head out of the snow and think about how this situation would be different if it was in June. So while my mind was racing, I crafted a story about a group of friends whose entire lives are ahead of them, and they just want to have one last weekend blow out. There are laughs, arguments, adventure, and everything that makes a summer weekend great. But the overlying theme is that I thought I was going to die that night, with my friends, just so I could sing and play guitar. Pretty crucial. [Laughs]"

Woodruff added that "Bad Frequencies" "represents some of the best times of our lives set to music. I wanted to capture the emotion of your favorite summer growing up, when you just had the best time of your life, but now it's all over," he said. "I wanted to capture the sadness that comes after extreme happiness. The beauty and isolation that comes with the end of excitement is something that is truly special. We spend our lives mired in the highs and lows, but we should really focus on the the in between. We have always just continued to move forward in HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS, and I think that this proves that. We don't let the bad times get us down, and we don't let the party last too long. We try to convey that message to our fans at all times."

Story continues after advertisement

"Bad Frequencies" track listing:

01. In Gloom
02. Pink Hearts
03. Crimson Sand
04. The Perfect Way To Fall Apart
05. Just Another Ghost
06. Bad Frequencies
07. Skylark
08. Edge Of Town
09. Starlighter (Echo, Utah)
10. Push Me Away
11. The Suicide Mile
12. Straight Down The Line
13. Pills

HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS is composed of JT Woodruff (vocals, guitar), Mark McMillon (guitar, backing vocals), Matt Ridenour (bass, backing vocals), Chris Popadak (drums).

HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS will be hitting the road for a 50-city USA headlining tour this month. With support from LISTENER, HOTEL BOOKS, SIENNA SKIES and HEAVY THINGS, the "Bad Frequencies" tour will kick off in Albany, New York on April 18 and travel to cities like San Antonio, Columbus, San Diego, Boise, Seattle and Honolulu before wrapping up in Fairbanks, Alaska on June 30.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).