LINKIN PARK's 'A Thousand Suns' Tops U.S. Chart

LINKIN PARK's new album, "A Thousand Suns", sold 241,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 1 on The Billboard 200 chart.

"A Thousand Suns" is LINKIN PARK's fourth consecutive chart-topper, following 2003's "Meteora", 2004's "Collision Course" EP with Jay-Z, and 2007's "Minutes To Midnight".

Like every other act, however, LINKIN PARK's sales reflect the current realities of the music business: while 241,000 copies is impressive, "Minutes To Midnight" sold 623,000 in its first week.

Although fans heard "The Catalyst" and "Wretches And Kings" prior to the CD release, vocalist Mike Shinoda told The Pulse of Radio that the best way to listen to "A Thousand Suns" is all at once. "People are used to consuming music in kind of small, bite-sized pieces, as we are, too," he said. "But yeah, we kind of made a six-course meal or a 15-course meal for you. If you decide to just, you know, check it out in little bits and pieces, that works. That's fine, but you will be kind of foregoing an experience that is special, and we want people to know that the record is, you know, something that if you listen to it from beginning to end you'll get something extra out of it."

"A Thousand Suns" features the following track listing:

01. The Requiem
02. The Radiance
03. Burning In The Skies
04. Empty Spaces
05. When They Come For Me
06. Robot Boy
07. Jornada Del Muerto
08. Waiting For The End
09. Blackout
10. Wretches And Kings
11. Wisdom, Justice, And Love
12. Iridescent
13. Fallout
14. The Catalyst
15. The Messenger

Check out the "A Thousand Suns" cover artwork below.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details.