LICK THE BLADE Debut To Receive U.S. Release

Cleveland traditional, classic metal band LICK THE BLADE will release its debut album, "Graveyard Of Empires", this month via Auburn Records. The CD was recorded at Noise Floor Studios in Cleveland with engineer Mark Klein (BREAKER). Cover art was designed by German artist Frank Fiedler.

"Graveyard Of Empires" track listing:

01. Prelude To War
02. Thanatos
03. Royal Blood
04. Resistance, Rebellion, And Death
05. Graveyard Of Empires
06. From Pandemonium To Chaos
07. Red Warning
08. Sea Of Apathy
09. Voyage Of The Damned
10. Rex Mundi
11. Stalker
12. Lick The Blade

"Graveyard Of Empires" is available in the U.S. through Century Media, The End Records, Sentinel Steel, Amazon and CD Baby.

"MAIDEN, PRIEST and you could throw in RUNNING WILD and MERCYFUL FATE in there too," says guitarist Tom Mowcomber, when asked whose fans might also get into LICK THE BLADE. "We don't want anything modern in our sound. We love classic metal! Even the bands that are doing classic metal seem to throw in this modern stuff, or things from other genres. We just want to do 100% pure classic metal, for people that want to hear that."

LICK THE BLADE performed this past July at the sold-out 2009 Headbangers Open Air festival in Brande-Hörnerkirchen, Germany as part of a special Auburn Records 25th-anniversary celebration. At the end of their regular set, the band was joined on stage by members of DESTRUCTOR, BREAKER and ETERNAL REIGN to perform past classic songs from the Auburn catalog.

The band appears on recent compilation CDs from Germany's Heavy and Poland's Hard Rocker magazines and is quickly establishing a strong underground overseas fan base. They were also featured in the November 4 issue of Cleveland Scene magazine with a full story written by legendary Cleveland rock journalist Anastasia Pantsios.


Tom Mowcomber – guitar
Brian French – guitar
Ted Anderson – vocals
Mike Kurtz – bass
Greg Behnke – drums

Mowcomber recants the story on how the band came up with their rather unique and unusual name: "Our old guitarist, and I were watching the original Halloween one night with some friends. We were partying pretty hard that night, and after watching the movie, we had the bright idea of using a butcher knife to stab the hell out of a watermelon that we had just cut open and filled with booze. At some point during all of that chaos, a friend of mine took one of his stabs at the watermelon and licked the guts off, after retracting the blade, and suggested that LICK THE BLADE would be a great band name. And thus, the name was born. The name referred to licking the blood off of a knife... nothing more, nothing less. I think the name really does a good job of representing the aggressive, relentless, powerful nature of heavy metal. Although, the story of its development is quite ridiculous!"

The "Graveyard Of Empires" album was made available overseas this past summer. In celebration of the CD's U.S. release, LICK THE BLADE will host an official CD-release party on Sunday, November 8, 2009 at the Hi-Fi Concert Club in Cleveland. VENOMIN JAMES, SHADES OF REMEMBRANCE, THREEFOLD LAW and Chicago cellist HELEN MONEY open. The show starts at 7:00 p.m. Admission is only $5. Germany's Daniela Vogel, who is visiting Cleveland for the first time, will be the guest MC for the evening.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).