KORN Guitarist Talks New Album On 'Creep Show'

KORN guitarist James "Munky" Shaffer was interviewed for the latest episode of Noisecreep's "Creep Show". During the chat, Munky talked about how producer Ross Robinson mentally tortured them in the studio to bring out their most passionate performances for the band's new album, "Korn III - Remember Who You Are", and how the mind games simultaneously helped them flash to where they were in the '90s and gave them a new, previously untapped potency and creativity. The guitarist also revealed that writing and playing songs like "Oildale (Leave Me Alone)", "The Past" and "Let the Guilt Go" helped him cope with the deaths of both his parents and gave him new perspective on his own life. In addition to talking about such philosophical stuff, Munky discussed how the band created "Korn III: Remember Who You Are", how new drummer Ray Luzier (ex-ARMY OF ANYONE) gives their songs new dimension, the experimental techniques that help make the record sound so revolutionary and the video for "Oildale (Leave Me Alone)" and the status of his star-studded side project FEAR AND THE NERVOUS SYSTEM.

The 27-minute discussion can be viewed below.

According to Billboard.com, KORN's new single, "Oildale (Leave Me Alone)", debuted on the Rock Songs chart at No. 41. The track netted 1.9 million first-week audience impressions on 79 stations, according to Nielsen BDS.

Due on July 13, KORN's ninth offering, "Korn III - Remember Who You Are", is the band's first effort for brand new label home, Roadrunner Records, and it bursts at the seams with that very feeling that defined the band from the get-go. Each song unleashes an uneasiness reminiscent of KORN's earliest and most unbridled material, but there’s also a modern refinement that's epic in its execution.

KORN bleed with unsettling and unpredictable aggression on "Remember Who You Are"'s 10 tracks. "Oildale (Leave Me Alone)" buzzes with an eerie clean guitar that slowly gives way to a steamrolling bass and riff assault. "Move On" morphs from a myriad of creaking tones into an explosive vocal freak-out that's impossible not to connect with it on a visceral level. Then there's the neck-snapping "Fear Is A Place to Live" tempering deadly guitar dissonance with an unforgettable chorus.

In order to tap into the chaos that made their self-titled debut a modern classic, the band enlisted the help of the man who helmed "Korn" and "Life is Peachy" — producer Ross Robinson, whose goal was to bring KORN back to square one.

The album captures the band's legendary performance style that's ignited crowds worldwide on stages ranging from Ozzfest and Projekt Revolution to Woodstock and Download. It's the same spirit that gave pop culture hits such as "Blind", "A.D.I.D.A.S.", "Got the Life", "Falling Away from Me" and "Twisted Transistor". It's clear, however, that "Korn III - Remember Who You Are" is another thrilling chapter being etched into KORN's already impressive history.

"Korn III - Remember Who You Are" track listing:

01. Oildale (Leave Me Alone)
02. Pop A Pill
03. Fear Is A Place To Live
04. Move On
05. Lead The Parade
06. Let The Guilt Go
07. The Past
08. Never Around
09. Are You Ready To Live?
10. Holding All These Lies


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).