KEEL: New Audio Interview With RON KEEL Posted Online

We Love Metal recently conducted an interview with vocalist Ron Keel of reactivated '80s hard rockers KEEL. The chat is now available for streaming at this location.

KEEL released its new album, "Streets Of Rock & Roll", on January 29 in Europe and February 9 in the USA on Frontiers Records.

The new recording contains twelve new rock anthems in the tradition of KEEL's classic "The Final Frontier", "Keel", and "Lay Down The Law" albums: commercial hard rock featuring the twin-guitar attack of Marc Ferrari and Bryan Jay, drummer Dwain Miller and bassist Geno Arce's rock solid groove, Ron Keel's powerful vocals, and a collection of songs which the band feels is their best ever.

"We are not reinventing our style — 'Streets Of Rock & Roll' is a perfect follow-up to our previous albums," says Ron Keel. "The only real evolution is in the quality of the songwriting, musicianship, and production; the excitement and energy of the reunion really ignited our creativity and Marc, Bryan, and I were able to collaborate as a songwriting team like we've never done before. One characteristic this album shares with our classic releases is diversity — there are power anthems, relentless metal, and commercial hard rock. Some of the songs are designed to make you pump your fist and stomp your feet, some have lyrical content that is a little deeper and aims for the heart. There is a power ballad, 'Does Anybody Believe', which I think is an instant classic and will be a very important song for us, one of those rare compositions that capture magic and translates it into words and music."

The new album was produced by Pat Regan (KISS, DEEP PURPLE, WARRANT) and features guest background vocals by Jaime St. James (BLACK 'N BLUE, WARRANT) and Paul Shortino, who produced and recorded Ron's lead vocal tracks.

"The feeling in the band is triumphant," concludes Ron Keel. "We've been back together for over a year now, we've got some great shows under our belt, and the new album is finished and ready for release. We are thankful to all the fans for the incredible response to the reunion, and we're very proud of our new music. We can move forward with the confidence that we've accomplished a lot of our goals and done it on our own terms."

"Streets Of Rock & Roll" track listing:

01. Streets Of Rock & Roll
02. Hit The Ground Running
03. Come Hell Or High Water
04. Push & Pull
05. Does Anybody Believe
06. No More Lonely Nights
07. The Devil May Care (But I Don't)
08. Lookin' For A Good Time
09. Gimme That
10. Hold Steady
11. Live
12. Brothers In Blood

Audio samples:

"Streets Of Rock & Roll":

"Hit The Ground Running":

"Does Anybody Believe":

"Lookin' For A Good Time":

"The Right to Rock" (new version):

KEEL first exploded onto the scene when "The Right To Rock", their major label debut produced by Gene Simmons of KISS, became the fastest-selling debut album in A&M Records' history. Frontiers Records will commemorate the 25th anniversary of this historic release with "The Right To Rock: 25th Anniversary Edition" simultaneously with "Streets Of Rock & Roll". This newly remastered edition adds two bonus tracks: "Easier Said than Done (Remix)" and a newly recorded version of the immortal metal anthem "The Right to Rock". For this recording, KEEL invited their fans to participate via the Internet — KEELaholics could download a guide track, sing along with the chorus, and send in an MP3 to be blended with the all-star chorus of the song which also features Paul Shortino (ROUGH CUTT, QUIET RIOT), Lez Warner (THE CULT), Ron Mancuso (BEGGARS & THIEVES) and other members of the Las Vegas rock scene (even Graham Russell from AIR SUPPLY joined in)!

In 2009 KEEL returned stronger than ever with festival appearances across the U.S. at Rocklahoma, the M3 Festival, the South Texas Rock Festival, and the MidWest RockFest in addition to sold-out headline shows in Hollywood and Phoenix. The excitement and energy of these shows and the fans' response fuelled the creative fires that spawned "Streets Of Rock & Roll" and led to the band's union with Frontiers Records. "We're working on festival dates in the U.S. and Europe for 2010 and we're ready to rock when opportunity knocks," explains Ron, adding "I can't emphasize enough how much depends on sales — the more copies of 'Streets Of Rock & Roll' and 'The Right To Rock: 25th Anniversary Edition' we sell, the more attractive we are to concert promoters and venues who can help us get back on stage where we belong — so we're hoping that fans of commercial hard rock will embrace these albums and add them to their collection."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).