KAYO DOT To Enter Studio In April

Boston-born and now New York City-based veteran avant-metallers KAYO DOT, led by Toby Driver, will enter Avast Studios in Seattle, Washington in April with producer Randall Dunn (SUNNO))), WOLVES IN THE THRONE ROOM, BLACK MOUNTAIN) to record their seventh album, "Hubardo". This CD will mark the 10th anniversary of KAYO DOT's debut and landmark release, "Choirs Of The Eye".

"Hubardo" is an approximately 90-minute conceptual epic double-album, with story and lyrics written by longtime lyricist and former MAUDLIN OF THE WELL vocalist Jason Byron. Musically, the album covers the spectrum of all of the band's works, from the sparse doomy elements of "Choirs Of The Eye", to the blast-beat, woodwind-driven "Gamma Knife", the chorus-bass goth fusion of "Coyote", and even lush orchestrated prog moments harkening back to the days of their previous band, MAUDLIN OF THE WELL, and, as with all the band's releases, Toby Driver and Co. venturing into new territory.

The album sees a returning cast of characters, with Toby Driver on bass, keyboards, guitars and vocals, Terran Olson on keyboards and woodwinds, Daniel Means on woodwinds and synth, Mia Matsumiya on violin, Tim Byrnes on trumpet and horn in F, the first proper studio recording with Keith Abrams on drums, and the first recording contribution of longtime live collaborator Ron Varod on guitar. "Hubardo" will also feature a very special guest vocal appearance by Jason Byron — his first recorded appearance since MAUDLIN OF THE WELL's 2001 albums, "Bath" and "Leaving Your Body Map".

This album will be self-released on the band's own imprint, Ice Level Music, and pre-orders will be taken to help fund the recording and travel costs. Pre-orders will be offered in 3xLP deluxe, standard, and digital-only editions, featuring limited 200g colored vinyl in triple gatefold (six huge panels of artwork), a five-chapter poem by Jason Byron entitled "The Sword Of Satan", signed poster, T-shirt, guitar pick, and sticker.

Story continues after advertisement

"Hubardo" track listing:

01. The Black Stone
02. Crown-In-The-Muck
03. Thief
04. Vision Adjustment To Another Wavelength
05. Zodelida Caosaji (To Water The Earth)
06. The First Matter (Saturn In The Guise Of Sadness)
07. The Second Operation (Lunar Water)
08. Floodgate
09. And He Built Him A Boat
10. Passing The River
11. The Wait Of The World


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).