JORN: Early Material, Cover Songs To See Light Of Day In January

Frontiers Records has announced the release of two separate JORN records entitled "Unlocking The Past" and "The Gathering" on January 27, 2007.

The concept behind this dual release is to satisfy the fans' request for more material and to make some of Jorn's earlier work more available.

"With 'The Gathering'," the Norwegian hard rock vocalist says, "I'm removing dust from some of my earlier recordings because I believe some of these songs deserve a second chance in history. Some tracks have been rerecorded from scratch, simply because I felt they would sound better with new arrangements and approach. Others have been remixed and have this way been given a 'face lift' due to the fact that the original recordings didn't sound that great productionwise. All songs have been digitally mastered by my good friend Tommy Hansen and I hope that this album will please my old as well as my newer fans."

"Unlocking the Past" includes some previously unreleased cover songs that were originally considered to be "leftovers" or additional bonus tracks for previous JORN albums. Many of them were never included on any official release. Some brand new covers were also recorded specifically for this CD. Dust has been brushed from these recordings; the remix of "Burn", "The Day the Earth Caught Fire" (which originally appeared on JORN's solo debut album "Starfire"), and the remastered version of "On and On" (which was supposed to appear on a MILLENIUM covers album a few years back), complete the track listing of the album.

"I'm very excited about releasing these songs from the treasure chest," Jorn says.

The track listing on the two albums will be as follows:

"Unlocking the Past"

01. On And On (MSG)
02. Fool For Your Loving (WHITESNAKE)
03. Cold Sweat (THIN LIZZY)
04. Lonely Is The Word/Letters From Earth (BLACK SABBATH)
05. Burn (DEEP PURPLE)
06. Feel Like Making Love (BAD COMPANY)
07. Kill The King (RAINBOW)
08. Perfect Strangers (DEEP PURPLE)
09. Naked City (KISS)
10. The Day The Earth Caught Fire (CITY BOY)

"The Gathering"

01. Something Real
02. Gonna Find The Sun
03. Bridges Will Burn
04. Young Forever
05. Tungur Knivur
06. One Day We Will Put Out The Sun
07. Sunset Station
08. Hourglass
09. Gate Of Tears
10. House Of Cards
11. My Own Way
12. Worldchanger
13. Abyss Of Evil
14. Where The Winds Blow
15. Christine
16. Big


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).