JOE LYNN TURNER Comments On New Solo Album 'Second Hand Life'

Former DEEP PURPLE/RAINBOW singer Joe Lynn Turner shares some thoughts on his forthcoming CD, "Second Hand Life", in his latest "Studio Report." You can read about some of the songwriters who contributed, get some insight into the lyrics and sound of the songs as well as other anecdotes from Joe. This includes information about both the European and Japanese bonus tracks. Check it out at this location.

Frontiers Records will release "Second Hand Life" in Europe on April 20.

In a career that spans nearly 30 years and includes over 50 album credits, Joe Lynn Turner remains one of rock and roll's most distinctive, soulful and expressive vocalists. His credits include FANDANGO, RAINBOW, YNGWIE MALMSTEEN, DEEP PURPLE and more recently MOTHER'S ARMY and his successful cooperation with Glenn Hughes on the HUGHES TURNER PROJECT albums.

"Second Hand Life" is Turner's new studio album, his tenth solo release. This time Joe wanted to go straight back to his melodic rock roots. Therefore, he worked on the songwriting with such luminaries as Jim Peterik (ex-SURVIVOR), Bob Held, Karl Cochran, Martin Briley. He also managed to include a track that he co-wrote with Ritchie Blackmore, Jim Peterik and Roger Glover entitled "Stroke of Midnight". The players on the new disc include longtime collaborators Karl Cochran (ACE FREHLEY) on guitar and bass, Bob Held on bass, Gary Corbett on keyboards and former DAMN YANKEES — now with LYNYRD SKYNYRD — drummer Michael Cartellone.

Says Joe: "I would describe the new album as a hybrid between 'The Usual Suspects' and 'Sunstorm', my recent studio project which received more positive reviews than any of my solo CDs since 'Rescue You'. I felt that the fans wanted to hear more music in this melodic rock vein. So... I think we delivered on this forthcoming album."

"Second Hand Life" track listing:

01. Love is Life
02. Got Me Where You Want Me
03. Second Hand Life
04. In Your Eyes
05. Blood Red Sky
06. Stroke of Midnight
07. Over the Top
08. Cruel
09. Sweet Obsession
10. Love Is On Our Side
11. Two Lights (European exclusive bonus track)

Check out audio samples at this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).