JACK RUSSELL's Debut Solo Album, 'Shelter Me', Reissued With New Artwork

JACK RUSSELL's Debut Solo Album, 'Shelter Me', Reissued With New Artwork

He has one of the most powerful and distinctive voices in hard rock history, heard on such classics as "Once Bitten, Twice Shy", "Rock Me" and "Save Your Love". He is Jack Russell, the inimitable vocalist and founding member of '80s metal legends GREAT WHITE, and he has recently reissued his 1996 debut solo album, "Shelter Me". The LP, released after a decade's worth of blockbuster albums for Capitol Records, finds the hard-living singer in fine form, belting out both ballads and rockers with gusto to spare. Highlights include the ballsy cover of THE BEATLES' "Hey Bulldog", an emotional version of the GREAT WHITE classic "Save Your Love", as well as the poignant title track, "Shelter Me", which expresses empathy for the growing homeless population. Musically, the album is right in line with GREAT WHITE's brand of LED ZEPPELIN-inspired blues rock with stellar guitar work from Matthew Johnson and Michael Lardie as well as a rhythm section that includes iconic bassist Tim Bogert (JEFF BECK, VANILLA FUDGE) and drummer Myron Grombacher. This special reissue revises the front cover album art, placing Russell front and center, and features an extensive booklet with complete lyrics.

"Shelter Me" track listing:

01. Shelter Me
02. Take My Pain
03. Leave Me Lonely
04. Long Way To Go
05. Hey Bulldog
06. You'll Lose A Good Thing
07. Twenty-Four/Seven
08. The Fault's All Mine
09. Roll With The Tide
10. Faith In You
11. Save Your Love
12. Shine On
13. When I Look Into Your Eyes

A 2013 federal court decision allows Russell to tour as JACK RUSSELL'S GREAT WHITE while GREAT WHITE continues with his replacement, Terry Ilous. Both last year released albums — GREAT WHITE's "Full Circle" and "He Saw It Coming" by JACK RUSSELL'S GREAT WHITE.

JACK RUSSELL'S GREAT WHITE features Russell alongside former GREAT WHITE bassist-turned-guitarist Tony Montana (as a guitar player and keyboardist), Dan McNay (MONTROSE) on bass, Robby Lochner (FIGHT) on guitar and Dicki Fliszar (BRUCE DICKINSON) on drums.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).