IRON MAIDEN: 'Live After Death' DVD Preview Available

A preview of the forthcoming double disc DVD of "Live After Death", the legendary recording of IRON MAIDEN's four-night stand at Long Beach Arena, California in 1984, is available below.

In the stores February 5, 2008 via New Door Records/UMe, the release will coincide with the start of the band's Somewhere Back In Time World Tour on which they will recreate many of the aspects of this original and spectacular show.

Disc one contains the recording of this full 90 minute concert. Originally filmed on 35mm, the footage comes alive on DVD resulting in a visually stunning film that far outstrips the usual live video of the '80s. The disc carries two sound options — the original concert audio specially mixed into 5.1 Surround Sound by Kevin Shirley, MAIDEN's producer since 1999, plus the original stereo sound track by Martin Birch, the band's producer from 1981 to 1993. Originally released on video in 1985, this has been largely unavailable for the past 20 years

Disc two has Part 2 of the "History Of Iron Maiden", continuing on the MAIDEN story from "The Early Days" DVD, along with rare and unseen bonus footage in the form of "Behind The Iron Curtain", "Rock In Rio '85", and "'Ello Texas", all in all giving a total running time of well over three hours. Plus of course the photo galleries, relevant promo videos, artwork galleries, tour dates, tour program and other features which all combine to make MAIDEN DVDs a very special and utterly comprehensive treat for their fans.

Story continues after advertisement

Manager Rod Smallwood explained: "The original video of 'Live After Death' has not been readily available for a long time so its good that we finally got around to this. lt was one of the first full concerts to be filmed after the advent of video and of course the live album, recorded on a different night to the video, has long been considered to be one of the seminal metal live albums and has sold millions since. Fans have been begging us to do this DVD for some time now but we wanted to wait until we were able to recreate that whole tour to go with it and also to make it part of a series of DVDs that we are putting together around the band's history. And of course we are making sure that now we have got to it we will be giving the fans everything we can find from that period!!”

Full list of contents:

Disc 1 — Live After Death

"Live After Death" concert with Stereo and Dolby Digital 5.1 Audio (90 minutes)


01. Churchill Speech/Aces High
02. 2 Minutes to Midnight
03. The Trooper
04. Revelations
05. Flight of Icarus
06. Rime of the Ancient Mariner
07. Powerslave
08. Number of the Beast
09. Hallowed Be Thy Name
10. Iron Maiden
11. Run to The Hills
12. Running Free
13. Sanctuary

Disc 2 - Documentary / Bonus Concert Footage

1. The History of Iron Maiden — Part 2 (60 mins) — Documentary.
Band members, crew, friends and associates talk about the period in the band's career which saw the writing, recording and release of the "Powerslave" album, and later "Live After Death", and the subsequent massive touring. And not just the serious side!!

2. Behind the Iron Curtain (57 mins approx) Documentary and Live — shot during MAIDEN's historic tour of Poland and other parts to the Eastern Bloc in 1984 featuring interviews, live and offstage footage capturing the atmosphere of this remarkable journey behind the Wall at the height of the Cold War.

3. Live Footage - Rock in Rio '85 (50 mins approx)
The full MAIDEN set supporting Queen on the first day of the first Rock in Rio in front of 300,000 manic metal fans. A bloody and stirring performance!! Songs performed include "Aces High", "2 Minutes to Midnight", "The Trooper", "Revelations", "Powerslave", "Iron Maiden", "Run To The Hills", "Running Free"

4. Ello Texas — 15 minutes — Interview and live. Caught by a film crew in 1983 at the Alamo and sound checking their show in San Antonio.

5. Artwork Gallery, Tour Programme, Tour dates and photo gallery

6. Promotional clips for Aces High and 2 Minutes to Midnight

Subtitles for all documentary footage:

PAL version — English HOH / Dutch / French / German / Italian / Swedish / Portuguese / Spanish
NTSC Version — English HOH / Brazilian Portguese / Latin Spanish


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).