ICED EARTH: New Audio Interview With JON SCHAFFER Posted Online

ICED EARTH's official web site,, has been updated with a brand new audio interview with the band's mainman, Jon Schaffer. The wide-ranging 37-minute chat, which was recored last week, is available as a free MP3 download at this location (35 MB).

Interview topics include:

* Where the track from the new single, "I Walk Alone", fits into the "Something Wicked" saga
* The decision for choosing the three songs from "Framing Armageddon" that were re-recorded with returning singer Matt Barlow on the new single
* Ongoing booking plans beyond those already announced for 2008
* A possible USO tour in Afganastan and Iraq
* Setlist plans for Chicago Powerfest on May 2
* Jon's new signature pickup, The Ice Bucker, created by Jim Wagner of WCR Guitar Pickups
* Technical talk and advice about acheiving guitar tone
* Jon's guitar picks of choice and how they affect guitar tone
* Jon's new private studio, Soaring Eagle Sound
* Impressions on the new Century Media Records box set, "Slave to the Dark"

Audio samples from ICED EARTH's forthcoming single, "I Walk Among You", have been posted on the group's MySpace page.

With the framework for the Armageddon of Man firmly laid with the bands
2007 full-length release, "Framing Armageddon - Something Wicked Part I", ICED EARTH is set to launch the next installment of Jon Schaffer's "Something Wicked" saga with the release of "I Walk Among You" on the following dates:

Germany - June 6
Rest of Europe - June 9
USA/Canada - June 10

The full-length studio follow-up to "Something Wicked Part I" is due for release in fall of 2008.

The new single and proceeding full-length studio album mark the return to the band of longtime frontman Matt Barlow, whose dark and sinister tones are the perfect fit to narrate the intense and viscous annihilation of mankind set in motion with the birth of the storys main character, "Set Abominae", in "Something Wicked Part II". The single will allow fans to get a glimpse of the bright future for the band, and the perhaps not-so-bright future for humanity as we now know it.

The single will feature three songs, an exclusive version of the song "I Walk Alone" and a few tracks from "Framing Armageddon (Something Wicked Part 1)" with new vocal performances by Matt Barlow. Due to the re-tracking of the lead vocals these tracks have been remixed and remastered. There will be an iTunes-exclusive version of the single "I Walk Among You" that features "A Charge To Keep" which has also been re-sung by Matt, remixed and re-mastered.

The video for "I Walk Alone" is being filmed in early April.

All tracks were recorded at Jon Schaffer's studio, Soaring Eagle Sound, and mixed and mastered at Morrisound. The single, and following full-length platter will be released by Steamhammer/SPV.

"I Walk Among You" (cover artwork) track listing:

01. I Walk Alone
02. Setian Massacre
03. The Clouding
04. A Charge to Keep (exclusive iTunes track)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).